Challenge #1: Truth in Labeling

This is our first challenge with The Journey!  It is simple, will take maybe 2 minutes of your time (if that) but will give you something to think about for a few days.  There is a possibility that just taking these 2 minutes may change what you put in your grocery cart the next time you are out.

Step 1:  Take one thing out of your fridge, freezer or pantry that was not purchased on the outside aisles of a grocery store (you know those areas…where the produce, meat and cheese are!).  Find something that is in a box…a container of something that you think really tastes good.  Maybe this is your favorite cereal.  This could include the tasty crackers that you munch on in the afternoon with a snack.  How about that microwave popcorn you eat before bed?

Step 2:  what are the first 5 ingredients that are listed?  Take a few seconds and write down those 5 ingredients on our Facebook page or make a comment here.  Don’t be ashamed or think people will judge you for what is in your house and what you are posting.  This isn’t about them…this is about you.

Step 3:

  • How many of these ingredients are sugar or a form of sugar?  Not sure?  You can find out what ingredients are actually a form of sugar at this website (yes, it is a Livestrong site and no, I don’t think the site has been enhanced by drugs in any way).
  • Can you actually pronounce all 5 ingredients?

What did I find?
I looked through some cabinets and the fridge today and found a few things…

This is what my 5 year old ate for breakfast this morning.  See what the second ingredient is?
Just something else I found in the pantry.  Nothing like some high fructose corn syrup
in your crackers to make you go “mmm, mmm, good”, right?  I know it wasn’t one of the first 5
ingredients but it is still in there.

Disclaimer:  I don’t eat perfect. I try and do a lot better than I used to but I will never have this food stuff figured out 100 perfect. Eating “clean” is a great for our bodies and something I would love to follow more than I do. Would I love to eat a package of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, maybe even one of those Big Cups? I would. Am I going to? Not right now.  🙂

3 thoughts on “Challenge #1: Truth in Labeling

  1. mzspoiledAmber

    Sun Chips Garden Salsa- My Favorite go to crunchy chip with a sandwich.
    WHole cor, sunflower and or canola oil, whole wheat, brown rice flour, whole oat flour, sugar, it isn’t the 5th thing, but it is right there at number 6. ugh.

    Like

    Reply
  2. mominminnesota Post author

    I didn’t realize sugar was even an ingredient in those. And…why?
    Wanted to make sure you saw the challenge for the “Lose this Fat! Challenge”. It is at the top of the challenge page now. I’m glad you did this…and it will probably be one of our steps in our nutrition chapter anyways…so you are one step ahead. 🙂 Just wanted to make sure you saw the right info for the challenge we are working on now…and I think you are part of. – Jessica

    Like

    Reply
  3. Julie Carlson

    Take a wild guess what this is: enriched flour, sugar, corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, soybean and palm oil….. Why yes, those would be the first 5 ingredients of Frosted Confetti Cupcake Pop-Tarts. I love how the box proudly displays “Good Source of 7 Vitamins & Minerals” despite these first five ingredients. Good stuff but definitely not bought or eaten often.

    Like

    Reply

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

