Low Carb Meatloaf Recipe

I wrote this back in December and wanted to share one of my favorite things to eat.  In fact…I am making this tonight for my family!  
Why am I making something that is low-carb?  I didn’t lift weights today so I won’t be eating as much as I normally do.  I have a huge appetite on lifting days and could easily eat half of this plus vegetables…no problem.  
If you try this recipe, let me know what you think!  You can’t skip out on the spinach either…it is not gross.  Stick it in there and eat it.  🙂  
I am enjoying our 30+ degree day in Minnesota.  We have several inches of snow on the ground and we are finally back to temps where it is bearable to go outside with just a sweatshirt on (for a few minutes).I am looking forward to my cheat meal today…Buffalo Wild Wings salad with breaded chicken.  I had that in a sauce last time and didn’t like it so I may not even have the chicken in anything…just plain.  I am not a spice person so eating BWW’s may just seem ridiculous but I really do like their salads.  I could care less about the rest of their food…although at one time I would have eaten your entire order of onion rings.  They have the best onion rings!  A salad may not seem like a cheat meal to some but for me…this is it.  (Ok, I did have a cookie yesterday and honestly I would have been happy not to eat it.  They are going to the freezer until Christmas.)  I am really looking forward to that salad though!  Did I just say those words?My last phase of my weightloss is going really well and I am at the point where clothes are not fitting again…in a good way…and I am having to make due with what I have.  Usually at about 10 pounds lost you notice the change in how your clothes feel and need a new size.  I am past the 10 pound mark and have lost 12 pounds since I focused on eating more of a low carb diet.  I put on some jeans this morning at the gym and they were too big.  I was a little afraid that I would be showing something in the back as I left the gym if I didn’t have my sweatshirt on to cover.  I came home, changed into my “business casual” (my Savers sweatpants that cost $3 and Minnesota Gophers sweatshirt that was on clearance years ago for about $9…I am quite the fashionista).  All I need is a fire going in the fireplace, a good book and a quiet house and I would be in heaven right now.  That’s not happening today so…back to reality.  I will just make due with my very expensive business casual wear.  :)We made a low carb meatloaf last week and everyone in our house really seemed to like it(meaning: no one complained or picked the green stuff out).  Here is how we made it:

Low Carb Meatloaf
2 lbs. ground beef
1 T dehydrated onion flakes
2 cloves garlic
1 tsp dry mustard
1 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp black pepper
2 tsp salt
2 T Worcestershire sauce
1 egg
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup flaxseed
1/2 to 3/4 cup shredded spinach leaves

We mixed this all up, put in a greased loaf pan and stuck it in the oven at 350 degrees for about an hour.  I did pull it out about 10 minutes before it was done and put on a little bit of ketchup that was very low in carbs also…think it is called Simply Heinz…or something similar to that.

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

