Our Top Picks

our-top-picksHere are some good reads for your weekend personally selected by The Journey!

February 23rd, 2013

Cori’s Picks…

How I Learned Not to be Overwhelmed  By Donald Miller :: A great story about ants. Yep, ants.

Wonderfully YOU! By Robin Dance at (in)courage :: “Have you given yourself permission to delight in the qualities that set you apart from every other creature on the planet??”

Jessica’s Picks…

10 Ways to Train Your Core Without Crunches by Girls Gone Strong…I read this article today and knew I had to share it!  One of the best lists of core exercises that I have found that don’t include doing a zillion crunches and with great videos to go with them.

Dear Big Girl by http://www.mamalaughlin.com  Sometimes you just read things that grab you and say, “this was to me a few years ago”.  I have had so many of these same thoughts these last few weeks as I see woman at the gym.  Their faces at first seem lost and confused and downright scared.  Those looks alone show me that they are new to the gym…and I pretty much know who the regulars are too so anyone not familiar is going to stick out like a sore thumb.  There is a look though of determination on their face as well mixed in with those other emotions and that right there is what will keep them coming back each day…even when they feel really uncomfortable.  If you feel like you are “the big girl” and working out is uncomfortable you HAVE to read this.  Know that if you see a smile that it is from someone who has been in your shoes and we are proud of you for working so hard!

I love real people.  By “real”, I mostly mean the words…honest, not afraid to say who they really are and someone who listens when I talk too.  I know a lot of people that talk while I am talking and really haven’t heard a word that I have ever spoken.  I don’t talk to them much.  🙂  Well…this blog post is a real person and she is real on her blog…every ounce of her.  I’ve read her blog for a few years now.  This post she wrote talks a little bit about her and she writes 25 Things About Me.  The original post was several years ago and she is reflecting on it and putting in some other notes since then.  There are a few bad words in it so if you don’t like reading those and it offends you…skip this link.

Join us on The Journey!  

Follow us here, sign up for e-mail updates or find us on Facebook.  We love the “likes”!  

2 thoughts on “Our Top Picks

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

