Ice Cream and Sugar Free Treats

ice creamOur Sugar Free(ish) Challenge is going on RIGHT NOW!  Today we have some low or no sugar snacks and an ice cream recipe to share.

I’m so proud of all of you that are trying!  Even if you are having a hard time and complaining to everyone you know and all over Facebook and Twitter…just know that you are trying.  I know it sounds lame but your body really will thank you in the future.

Maybe you are thinking of starting to cut out or limit the amount of sugar you are consuming…if so…trust me, you CAN do it!

A few months ago my husband and I did the “no sugar” thing.  It was tough but doing this challenge together was pretty helpful.

As a woman…I like chocolate.  Is like the right word?  Obsessed, maybe?  I am studiously mesmerized by the taste of chocolate.  That’s better!

images (9)In order to make it through the days of “no sugar” and stay sane I had to find alternatives.  Here are a few things that I found that helped me:

trail mix.  I really like getting the prepackaged trail mixes from Trader Joes.  My favorites right now have a combination of different kinds of nuts and a few raisins.  Since they are pre-packaged I know that I am not eating more than what I need and getting the right serving amounts.  (dried fruits usually have sugar added…so keep that in mind)

Smoothies (I’ll put one of those recipes out soon…my favorite treat type of smoothie tastes like a Butterfinger!  No sugar in it too!)

Atkins bars.  I know that many people don’t like Atkins.  I’ve read everything about it so you don’t need to tell me the goods and bads.  Save any negative talk that you might want to send me or comment on…I know it all.  Fact is though, some days you just need to satisfy a craving.  This is what I eat when I need that adn it works.  There are some great treats or bars made by this company and some really taste just like (or really close) to the full sugar version.  My favorite is one that looks and tastes almost like a Babe Ruth.  Yum!  You can find these at pretty much any store.

My husband and I also like ice cream.  We used to eat Culver’s ice cream quite often (more than what a “sometimes food” should be consumed).  Going from eating ice cream often to never was tough.  We found a few recipes though that we like and today we are sharing that with you!

Sugar Free Ice Cream (this is a secret recipe shhh..)

1 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream

1 cup Half and Half

1/4 cup water

1 cup Splenda

1 to 2 teaspoons of vanilla

1/3 to 1/2 cup of PB2 (powdered peanut butter)

Mix it all up.  Pour into the ice cream maker.  Eat when it is done.  I like to add Sugar Free Hot Fudge as a topping too.  This makes about 4 servings.

Thanks for joining us at The Journey!  We have some awesome giveaways right now…be sure to read our Giveaway & Sponsors page so you have a chance to win some great exercise gear.

-Jessica

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

