Jessica’s Chili

foodIn October 2012 I started one of the toughest parts of my journey.  I worked with an online personal trainer and started the transformation of what I did in the gym but also what I kept in my fridge and cupboards.

For 6 months I learned more about the potential I actually had with strength training and what foods I should be eating for fat loss.  It was a big eye opener!

I was told by my trainer to have prepared at all times and stocked in the freezer and fridge a meal that is very simple to make.  Today I am sharing that meal with you…chili.  Make up a batch or two and always have it available.  When you are hungry this can be one of your meals.  When you need a snack, this can be a snack instead.

In my house measuring is approximate…so, that is why some of the ingredients below seem to be a pretty large range.  We like a lot of meat in our chili but sometimes we don’t always have 2 pounds of meat.  I like a lot of tomatoes but not everyone in my family does.

Make as you like or what works best for you or your family!

Jessica’s Chili

  • 1 to 2 pounds ground turkey, cooked (you could use beef instead…keep it as lean as possible though)
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes (use can also use fresh tomatoes cut up)
  • 1 cup chicken broth (I usually use reduced sodium)
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can dark red kidney beans
  • 1 can chili beans
  • 1/2 to 1 onion cut up
  • 1 can Mexicorn or frozen corn that is similar
  • couple of dashes of chili powder

Throw this all in a crockpot, let it sit on low all day…eat now or store it for later.

Do you have a chili recipe that you like?  We’d love to see what you put in yours.  Share it with us in the comments below!  

-Jessica

Thanks for joining us at The Journey!  You can find more recipes from The Journey at our Recipe Page.

 

2 thoughts on “Jessica’s Chili

  1. Pingback: The Journey

  2. Pingback: Q&A…What are some healthy and fast lunches? | The Journey

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

