Challenge #6…Body, Mind and The Biggest Loser

biggest loserI am a pretty big Biggest Loser fan.

I don’t have any Biggest Loser gear but I’ve watched at least 90% of the episodes.  I really like the color pink…and the player wearing that color always seems to stand out for me.  (Can we say…Danni?!)

I see what is going on in the minds of those contestants, especially in the videos that were played this past Monday night, that showed each individual person and their journey.  I see them and I see…me.

When I was a little bit more of the Biggest Loser size I signed up to be part of The Biggest Loser here in Rochester with one of our tv stations.  I took my picture.  I filled out the questionnaire and I was actually really excited and yet completely terrified to start the process.  The biggest thing though…I knew that I needed to do something like The Biggest Loser and I was ready for change.

I didn’t get picked.  I didn’t get to use the fancy gym in our town that seems to have all the fancy equipment in it.  I didn’t get to wear the shirt that showed I was part of a team that wanted change.  I didn’t get a personal trainer to help me figure out what it was that I needed to do.  I didn’t have someone show me what foods to eat and what to change.

I still pushed myself anyways.  I went and joined the gym I could afford (the cheapest one in town but it has everything I need.)  I didn’t get to wear a new Biggest Loser t-shirt but I had a closet full of other shirts…so I just put those on.  I wasn’t part of a team but realized that neither were any of the people on The Biggest Loser when they first filled out that application to be on the show.

One quote that stuck with me as I was watching The Biggest Loser this past week was this:

“I didn’t realize this was as much conditioning for your mind as it was for your body.”-Jackson from The Biggest Loser

I knew that losing weight and getting healthy was hard work and I would be sore sometimes from working some muscles that haven’t been challenged in 10+ years.  I was ready for the physical changes.  I was ok with that.  What I didn’t realize was that my thinking about health, food, body image, family and my perception of who I was would be challenged and changed too.  That quote reminded me how sometimes it was easier to make the physical changes with my body but my mind was still back to the person who was a size XXL (+).  I still have moments where I am shopping or look in the mirror and have trouble identifying the true size that I am now.  My brain has not caught up to reality and that is going to be a constant work in progress for me on this journey.

Our challenge this week is simple but is geared towards the work that our minds will be doing on this journey.  FYI…This may seem like a little bit of work now and will require a little bit of effort on your part but you will so appreciate being part of this challenge in the future.  Why else should you do this challenge?  Because you will be SO proud of what you accomplished and this will really help your mind grasp the picture of who you are and who you were.

Are you ready?  Here are the details…

Challenge #6  Take a few moments and think about what you would want to tell the new you.  

  • How do you feel right now?  
  • What energy level do you have?  
  • What types of exercising or movement do you currently do?  
  • What are you really proud of that you accomplished recently?  
  • What is one goal that you have for the new you?  
  • Take a photo of yourself…full body, in some clothes that you really like and make you feel good…and if you want you can write down your current measurements too.  

videoThen you have 2 options.  1)  You can write this all up or type it up, stick the photo and measurements together and seal it in an envelope.  2)  Take a video of yourself and tell yourself all those same questions.  Tell the camera the details, the emotion of what it is like to be the size and/or weight that you are now.  Stick that video in a file somewhere on a computer or a disk…and don’t look at it or delete it.  

Now, write yourself a note and put it on your fridge.  If you use a calendar, put a note 6 months or 1 year from the day you completed the challenge and write “Open and view the letter/video of my journey”.  

Are you up for this challenge?  Are you ready to help your mind grasp what the results truly are from your hard work?  Let us know if you are participating and which option you are doing…the letter or the video.

Thanks for being part of The Journey!  You can find more of the challenges at The Journey on our Challenge page and you can also find us on Facebook!

-Jessica

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

