No Sugar {ish} Re-Cap (And a recipe!)

Did you survive the No Sugar {ish} Month of March? Did you thrive? Are you still alive? 😉

014-001I intended to write this post yesterday, but a rude stomach bug attacked a couple of my kiddos, so well, this wasn’t on the top of the list. I hope those who participated in the No Sugar {ish} Challenge feel a great sense of accomplishment! Even if you cheated more than you would care to admit, you still made progress towards reducing the amount of sugar you consume, and that’s what counts! Good for you! We’re all on a journey, ya know! Go reward yourself with a piece of chocolate cake. Or an apple might be better. 🙂

I’ve done No Sugar {ish} months before, so I knew it would be hard, but I honestly expected it to be easier since I’ve done it before. It doesn’t get easier, really. Bummer. Maybe for some people it will, but apparently not for me. Here’s a brief re-cap of what I learned this past month:

  • It’s equally hard and empowering to say “no.” Sometimes I said “no” to sugar and felt silly. Other times I felt such a sense of being good to myself. Self control and discipline are good for us.
  • Carrots can taste sweet when you haven’t had much sugar. True story. And this coming from a girl who never used to eat raw carrots.
  • I realized that often when I was battling a huge sugar craving that I wasn’t craving a specific food. I’ll try to explain, maybe you can relate. I’d have this “I need sugar and I need sugar NOW!!” feeling, but if I stopped to think about what I was specifically craving, there really wasn’t anything. I’d go through different items, candy, a cookie, soda … none of them were really going to satisfy that “must-have-sugar-now” feeling. When I took the time to stop and think, I realized that nothing I picked was going to make that craving feeling go away, so I might as well pick something healthy, or just walk away from the kitchen.
  • Giving in to a craving every once in a while gives me a renewed strength to carry on. Weird, maybe, but true. I was pretty good about not cheating, but I did have a pre-planned cheat day in the middle of the month. We have some of my husband’s college friends over every year for a baseball draft. It was fun to indulge that day, but it also gave me motivation to not quit in the middle and keep going.
  • The number on my scale went down a bit for the month, but it crept back up towards the end. A reason, maybe, to not put too much stock in that number. I misplaced my tape measure, so I didn’t get any measurements at the beginning of the month. Actually, I had re-organized some things and forgot that the tape measure got a new home. Silly organization. 😉 So, I can’t report any dramatic changes in my body. But that’s OK, too.
  • Sweet treats with more natural sweetener (I used honey) are a life saver. Hooray for the person who developed “nourishing” fudge. I highly recommend this recipe. I only made it once, but I will be making it again. Maybe right after I finish this post. It’s creamy, chocolaty goodness, and it’s rich enough that I never wanted to eat the whole batch in one sitting. Just a few bites was perfect.

I also made a few versions of “energy balls” that you can find all over Pinterest. Here is a recipe from my sister-in-law. It’s a slight variation to one I had posted on the Facebook page and uses cocoa powder instead of chocolate chips. (Thanks, Lisa!)

No Bake Chocolate Peanut Butter Balls

No Bake Chocolate Peanut Butter Oatmeal Balls

3/4 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup honey
1 tsp. vanilla
1 cup oatmeal
1 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup shredded coconut (Optional, if you have non-coconut lovers. You might want to increase the oatmeal if you leave this out.)
Mix together well and roll into balls. Store in the refrigerator.

And, finally, I leave you with a confession. I quit the No Sugar {ish} Challenge one day early and enjoyed some candy on Easter.

003

This pile of goodies is missing some peanut butter and chocolate egg-shaped candies that are just slightly larger than jelly beans. Yum. (Oh, and I ate two jelly beans when I took this picture today.) I also had a pop or two over the weekend. My excuse: it’s motivating me to keep going with the No Sugar {ish} challenge in April. I’m also adding no wheat. It might be harder than the no sugar, we’ll see. I do love me some bread. (And my Triscuit crackers that Jessica made fun of me for in college. 😉 ) I’ve been curious for a while what would happen if I gave up wheat, so I’m experimenting to see if I notice any changes. I’d love to see some changes in my measurements, but I’m also experimenting for other health benefits. I’ll let you know how it goes. If you’re a praying person, I’d love the prayers. Especially on Friday nights when my family usually orders pizza. I kid, I kid. Sort of. I’m going to miss pizza night. A lot.

Did you participate in the No Sugar {ish} Month? How did it go? Has it motivated you to make other changes in your life? We’d love to hear about it!

_____

Cori Drost

Cori is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. 

3 thoughts on “No Sugar {ish} Re-Cap (And a recipe!)

  1. Pingback: Haywire Hormones | The Journey

  2. Pingback: Eating Paleo for 31 Days | The Journey

  3. Pingback: Day 1: I Survived the First Day (and a Disclaimer) | The Journey

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

