Low Carb {Gluten Free} Pizza

I’m into week 2 of my no wheat challenge. It’s actually been easier than I thought. I’ve realized how often I eat mindlessly while giving my kids some crackers or just out of boredom. I’m not sure why it seems easier to eat a handful of crackers than a handful of carrots or almonds, but for some reason the crackers used to win out. Not now.

I do, however, love pizza. It’s my favorite. If pizza and Mt. Dew were health foods, I’d be the healthiest person on the planet. 😉 At our house we have Friday Family Fun Night, and we almost always order pizza. I can’t do that and stick with my no wheat policy, so I need some alternatives. This past Friday we didn’t have our weekly tradition, because we drove to my parents’ house for the weekend. On Saturday morning, however, my Mom and I had a conversation that went a little bit like this:

DSCN0093

Cauliflower in pizza crust? Could it be good?

Mom: Do you want to try an experiment?

Me: Sure! … Well, maybe? What did I just agree to?

Mom: Would you like to try some pizza crust made from cauliflower? I’ve seen several recipes, but I haven’t tried it yet.

Me: Let’s do it!

The Easter egg hider and three hunters.

The Easter egg hider and three hunters.

And we did! Or, I should clarify, my Mom made the crust. I just stood around taking pictures. And then I went outside to help my kids on an Easter egg hunt. And then I came back inside and took a few more pictures.

And the pizza turned out really, really good! Really! Maybe it was one of those deals where my expectations were so low that it would have to be absolutely horrible in order for me to not like it. But, I’m pretty sure it was just tasty, and I’d like to make it again sometime.

We used a recipe from Closet Cooking. Many others have similar recipes. Feel free to experiment with your own!

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

  • 1 Medium Head Cauliflower
  • 1 Large Egg
  • 1/2 Cup Mozzarella Cheese
  • 1 tsp. Oregano or Italian blend seasoning
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Pizza toppings of your choice.

Rice or finely chop the cauliflower. To get the moisture out of the cauliflower, microwave for 6 to 8 minutes. Then dry with a towel or paper towel.

The cauliflower after going through the food processor.

The cauliflower after going through the food processor.

Mix the seasoning, egg, cheese and cauliflower.

Egg, spices and cheese.

Egg, spices and cheese.

Press into a greased pizza pan. [**See UPDATE below.]

Before putting it in the oven. (The edges spread out and got crisper than the rest. A pan where the crust touches the edges might work better. We'll have to experiment.)

Before putting it in the oven. (The edges spread out and got crisper than the rest. A pan where the crust touches the edges might work better. We’ll have to experiment.)

Bake at 450 for 12 to 15 minutes. If you double the recipe cook 15 to 20 minutes. Add your toppings and baked again until the toppings are heated and cheese is melted.

Adding the toppings. We used pizza sauce and cheese.

Adding the toppings. We used pizza sauce and cheese.

Baking.

Baking.

The final product! Yum!

The final product! Yum!

It really was good! It tasted like a thin crust pizza. It will be something I try again, for sure! It’s a great option for those who are watching their carb intake or need gluten free recipes. Who knew cauliflower could make crust?

**UPDATE**

So, I made this crust again and realized I originally had the wrong recipe! Oops! I took a picture of a recipe on my Mom’s computer, and it was the wrong one. I made the one I had originally posted, and it was not as delicious. Maybe I had too high of expectations this time, but really, I think the different spices make a big difference.

I did experiment with using a baking stone instead of a regular pan, and the crust was not as mushy. Here’s what I did:

Place your baking stone in the oven while your oven preheats. This gets the stone nice and warm.

030

When your “dough” is prepared, spread it out on parchment paper. Then place the parchment paper onto the stone. Bake as stated above.

032

This cooked my crust much more evenly. Although, the mushy crust might have tasted better, so I’m not convinced it’s the way to go. I’ll have to keep experimenting!

_____

Cori Drost

Cori is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. She even eats cauliflower pizza crust now. 😉

6 thoughts on “Low Carb {Gluten Free} Pizza

  1. Sarah J.

    funny, we tried this this weekend too! Ours turned out OK. My recipe was slightly different. For how much time I put into the crust I would have liked it to have been better. We made a pepperoni for the kids (turned out soggy, even with lots of straining) and a chicken/pepper/onion/feta for grownups. Ours was good. (only to be made when you have lots of time to make dinner!)

    Like

    Reply
    1. Cori D. Post author

      I would say ours was slightly soggy in the center, too. I ate it with a fork. We discussed experimenting with it to get it crisper. There were dozens of comments on the original recipe with modifications people had made. I’ll have to do some more research.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Lisa

    I’ve tried the cauliflower crust pizza too, but although the flavor was fantastic, I wish the crust was a little less soggy (and it felt the prep was a little longer/messier than I would like). I’d love an update if you find a way to add some crisp to the crust, while maintaining the grain-free crust. Ground flaxseed??

    Like

    Reply

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

