My No Wheat Re-Cap

For the month of April, I (Cori) tried a no wheat challenge. I thought I should do a little re-cap of my experience and tell you what I did for the month of May. (How is May almost over already? I think it’s the fastest-moving month of the year.)

My version of taco salad. Two tacos and a salad. ;)

My version of taco salad. Two tacos and a salad. 😉

Overall, I think my no wheat challenge was a success. It wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be, and I think I ate more veggies, especially at lunch, during the month. If felt a little weird to have a Sloppy Joe without a bun, but oh well. What do you do? 😉

When I say it wasn’t too hard, I meant while eating at home. It is hard to find no wheat choices if you want to eat out, especially if you need fast food while driving. Most places have salad options, but it’s hard to eat that in a car. I had a few hard shell tacos from drive-thru one day when I needed to eat on the run. (I think we all know fast food is a bad choice, but sometimes it seems like the only option, especially if you are traveling. I try to minimize eating at fast food joints, but I don’t completely avoid them. And, you know, eating and driving isn’t a good idea either. I realize that. Don’t judge. ;))

You can still eat a lot of junk food that doesn’t have wheat. Potato chips and corn chips are gluten free. I tried not to eat a lot of junk food. Maybe a no processed foods challenge is on the horizon. That would be hard, hard, hard. And it is kind of sad that processed foods are such a part of my life.

I realized how often I eat mindlessly while getting a kiddo a snack or just passing though the kitchen. I give them a few crackers and eat a few for myself. Since I wasn’t eating wheat, I probably saved some calories when I wasn’t hungry.

Homemade chicken noodle soup with gluten free noodles.

Homemade chicken noodle soup with gluten free noodles.

I tried some gluten free spaghetti noodles, and they tasted pretty good. They are pricey, though. I feel for people who have to avoid gluten all the time. I never found gluten free bread or tried to make any of my own. If I try a no wheat challenge in the future, I might have to try some new recipes.

I didn’t make it the entire month without wheat. I help with my daughter’s Girl Scout group and we had a pizza party about three weeks in. Interestingly, a few days after eating that pizza I came down with strep throat. It was so bad it shocked the doctor I saw. I’m curious if there was any correlation to eating wheat and messing with my immune system or if it was just a coincidence. I think further experimentation will be required.

In fact, most of my interest in going wheat-free for a month was for some annoying health issues I have related to some wacked-out hormones. It’s something I’m still experimenting with, and something I hope to write about in greater depth here soon.

For the month of May, I decided  I needed a break from my eating challenges. I had no sugar {ish} in March and no wheat in April, so I wanted a break. I’ve been eating whatever, although I can tell that I eat less and snack on junk less than I used to. I’m not a perfect eater, and I never will be. I have noticed I’ve been more tired, more grumpy and just more sluggish this month. In fact, it’s motivating to realize how good I was feeling when I was eating healthier. I took the month of May off partly to see if I noticed any differences. My weight has not changed, however, I feel more bloated and clothes seem a smidge tighter, especially as I get towards the end of the month.

Sounds like a great time for me to kick it into gear for one of our new challenges:

The Let’s Lose this Fat Challenge started Tuesday, but it’s definitely not too late to join!

The Couch to 5K Challenge starts June 1

*note that these links will take you to The Journey Facebook page. In order to keep the event pages “live” throughout the challenges, the dates on those pages are the ending dates. Hopefully that isn’t too confusing. 🙂

Have you experimented with avoiding wheat or other grains? How did it go for you?

3 thoughts on “My No Wheat Re-Cap

  1. Pingback: Haywire Hormones | The Journey

  2. Pingback: Eating Paleo for 31 Days | The Journey

  3. Pingback: Day 1: I Survived the First Day (and a Disclaimer) | The Journey

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

