A Downside of Losing Weight?

Did I really just type that headline? A downside of losing weight? Is there one? I mean, I feel better and look better and am overall healthier than I was just one year ago. How could there be a downside?

I need a new wardrobe!

And, I realize, that’s not entirely a downside IF you are a millionaire. But, I’m guessing most of you are like me, and you aren’t millionaires either. ๐Ÿ˜‰ So, I need some clothes that fit better, but I don’t have a huge clothing budget. And, honestly, I hope to continue my journey to better health, which will hopefully result in the need for more smaller clothes.

So, what to do in that transition when you are on a budget? Great question!

I should also start with a disclaimer: I am no fashionista! Shopping isn’t really my thing. I prefer comfort over cute and traditional over trendy. And I’m cheap. I never have liked spending a lot of money on clothing. There are other things I would rather spend money on. But, I also like to look nice and not like a slob. Some of my baggy, saggy pants look pretty bad.

Downside #1: Determining Your Size

I’m finding it’s hard to figure out what size I am right now, as every stinking style/brand seems to be a little different. I just bought some new capris in the same size my old (too large) ones were, but the next size down was too tight for my comfort. Truthfully, I’m also not sure what size I used to be one year ago, because I’m pretty sure some of my clothes got stretched beyond their original size. I just put a button back on a pair of shorts. I know it got loose last summer when it was stretched beyond what it was made to do. I just squeezed into old clothes rather than buy new ones at a larger size. I was partly in denial and partly just hoping I would lose a few pounds and go shopping another time.

So, don’t be discouraged if you’ve lost a significant amount of weight but still need the same size clothes at the store. I’m officially down 20 lbs. since last October, but I’m not suddenly fitting into clothes even one size down. Or I can get them on, but they are too tight. The truth is I probably AM down a size, I just had stuff that didn’t really fit or was stretched out to a size larger than it was made to be. Keep that in mind as you are in a store dressing room.

Downside #2: Not Going Broke Buying New Clothes

We all have to wear clothes. Here’s some ideas for when your body size is going down and your budget is not going up:

  • Try on your old “skiny” jeans gathering dust in the closet. Maybe they’ll fit again! Woo hoo!
  • Think about what season you are in. If you are nearing the end of one season, try to hold off buying new clothes until the new season approaches to avoid spending money on clothes you won’t wear in another month. I needed some new stuff towards the end of winter, but I just kept wearing the old stuff because it was going to be spring and summer soon. Now, the funny thing is it has been chilly here lately, so I’m still wearing saggy jeans some days.
  • Shop second-hand. Thrift stores and consignment shops can be hit-or-miss, especially for adult clothing. I’ve not had a lot of success in this area, but I also live in a pretty small town. Some of you who live in more populated areas might have a better time finding things second-hand. Sell some of your items you’ve outgrown and use the money towards clothing for you.
  • Buy neutral things that coordinate with each other so you can get multiple outfits out of a few items.
  • Use Pinterest to your advantage. I have a board called “Help I Need a Style!” ha ha! I don’t have a ton of things pinned there, but it does give me a visual idea of the things I like before I enter a store. Knowing what you like and don’t like can help you from buying something that you end up never wearing.
  • Buy items that are less form fitting, so you might get more wear out of them as you continue to lose weight. A lot of dresses right now have “flowy” skirts to them. I picked up a couple dresses for weddings and church that should fit, even if I lose a few more pounds.
  • If all else fails, wear a belt to keep those saggy pants on! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’m sure I’ve forgotten some obvious ideas for how to save money on clothes. What have you done when the money is tight and your clothes are loose?

 

_____

Cori Drost

Coriย is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change.

5 thoughts on “A Downside of Losing Weight?

  1. mominminnesota

    Belts are my friend…AND YOGA PANTS! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I have actually bought most of my in between clothes (still in that stage) at Walmart and some second hand stores. One of my favorite shirts was from Goodwill…and it was brand new with tags on it still and all I paid was $1.

    Just a warning…if you cycling or like to do squats or other exercises to strengthen your hips, butt and legs…be prepared that you will never find a pair of jeans that fits again. I feel like quadzilla.

    There is also a site on Facebook where people swap their workout clothes, sell them or something similar to that. Not sure how it works but it might have something that would work for someone…here is the link: https://www.facebook.com/groups/152576411592752/

    -Jessica

    Like

    Reply
    1. Angela

      Swapping is a great idea! Also, another trick is when a store has a buy one get one half off sale I would buy my new size and then buy 2 sizes down for the 2nd pair. (ie: 9 and 5, wear the 9 until the 5 fits)

      Like

      Reply
  2. Angela

    I loved this. When I lost weight I automatically out of habit went back to my old size when shopping. It took some practice and a lot of trying on things to find the right fit. Also I think many clothing manufacturers have changed their sizing to enable an overweight america to “feel better” about their size. Even as a young adult I never wore a size 5, but I do now and I don’t weigh what I did back then either.

    Like

    Reply

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

