The juggles of life…a mom’s story

images (36)My kiddos are now home for the summer.  If you are a mom out there…that is enough said.  Am I right?!  😉

Let’s sum up 1 day of my life for you…

my 3 kids + somewhere between 3 and 7 day care kids + 1 puppy that is HUGE and chewing everything + paperwork for the state that is just ridunkulous + trying to help the youngest with his anxiety so we can get in the door at Kindergarten + getting ready for vacation + getting ready for some remodeling in the house = MASS CRAZINESS FOR THIS MAMMA!  That is just this week.  

Now that my darlings are home…all day, every day…it is also time to review our attitude policies in the house and chore charts.  We have had such focus on the attitudes that we haven’t even gotten to the chore charts.  Needless to say, my house is a mess.  (FYI…if there is a mom out there that has a clean house…please share your secrets).  I was actually able to do two remarkable things this morning while the puppy was at the vet.  Here they are (are you ready to be amazed?!)…1)  I mopped the floors, 2) I made banana bread.  That is like…big time news here.  Almost as much as folding a load of laundry and ACTUALLY putting the close away where they belong.

I’m a mom.  I’m a real mom and if you come in my house…it is not Better Homes & Gardens gorgeous.  It is trashed…by kids and a puppy.

We’ve just started summer and I know that my time is spread even thinner than during the school year.  The only thing that I can let loose on a bit is my workouts.  I know I need to get back in the game of things but I am hitting the sack by 9:30/10pm and out cold the entire night.  I don’t have the energy to get up early other than for the mornings when I HAVE to be there to teach classes.  The last three weeks…that has been enough for me and about all I can handle.  I have managed to get some running in and some bodyweight exercises but…I am taking it easy on the deadlifts and the heavy stuff until I can get my head in the game again.

I took a mental vacation for a few days.  No workouts.  No gym.  I let my mind relax. I let my body relax.

I sat on the deck on Sunday and took not one…but two naps.  TWO.  It felt great.

I let myself have a day where I tried not to think about what I should and shouldn’t eat…I just ate.

I made some new things the other day…and I had fun with it.

I think for me, learning balance is the hardest.  My natural tendency is to push real hard at the gym to the point of exhaustion.  This is not working so well at the moment.  It never has.  But for some reason I keep thinking that I need to be at the gym every day.

My lack of balance and having a life that seems to be pretty full at the moment takes its toll on me physically and mentally.  My desire to workout and exercise was deflated.  All of my energy was zapped out of me.

The fitness world is such a crazy, mix messaging multi-media mess.  It really is.  You can’t type in exercise without seeing pictures that make you feel worthless and show you why YOUR body should be working out non-stop.  Some of the quotes out there that are so-called inspiring are just embarrassing and hurtful.  Those who are getting paid lots to tell you about products are getting paid to do so…it is such a gimmick…and sadly it is working for a lot of you.

I wasn’t really sure where this post was going when I started but I think this really was written to let you know that it is ok to take a break when you need it.  Our society might tell you otherwise through the posts on Pinterest and all the fitness sites you can Google.  But, I will be the person to tell you that it is OK!

If you are tired…physically exhausted…TAKE A BREAK!

download

This morning I went back to the gym.  My alarm went off at 4:40am and I was up.  I was excited to be up.  I was happy to be teaching class today.  I was thrilled to be getting my coffee ready and take the puppy outside before I left.  My class was awesome today and I had fun.

THAT.  That right there is what it should feel like to you when you are ready to exercise and workout.                                    Energy.  Excitement.  Fun.

Jessica Williams

Jessica Williams

– Jessica

Jessica has been on a journey of weightloss and has dealt with years of pain in her hips.  After losing 80 pounds, she is now a certified cycling instructor and will soon be teaching strength training.  Read more about Jessica…right here. 

2 thoughts on “The juggles of life…a mom’s story

  1. Karen Flynn

    I took my break this morning, and I have been feeling guilty all day. The alarm went off at 5am and I just wanted to stay in bed. So I did. I missed your cycling class and the great feeling of accomplishment after it. It’s been a hectic couple of weeks. My husband had hip surgery a week ago (which went very well), a dear coworker changed jobs and is no longer a friendly face at the office, our son is staying with us (which is going very well, but is still stressful) to help out with yard work, etc, and then a couple days ago I got poison ivy. That was the proverbial straw. The itching and oozing and scabbing is creeping me out. We went on a family vacation (all four adult kids and two boyfriends) a couple weeks ago, but I think I need a ME vacation, where I am not concerned about what people want to eat or if this kid is getting along with that kid and how the new boyfriend is fitting in. I bought a big bag of chocolate covered peanuts and ate most of it yesterday. Food is definitely my stress addiction. But I did stop after the peanuts. I have had a lot worse binges than that in my past. Pruning is another stress reliever for me. As in trees and bushes. I severely pruned our lilac last night, and I think I really like it. I have three more to do tonight. I work up a little sweat and the yard looks better. But I just have to remember not to touch the poison ivy growing underneath the bushes.

    Like

    Reply
    1. mominminnesota Post author

      I figured you were taking care of your hubby. 🙂 When you are all ready to get back into it…you will know. Sorry you had poison ivy too! Not fun. Good to hear from you, Karen! – Jessica

      Like

      Reply

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

