The “A” Word…accountability

images (55)Since February I’ve been kindof floating along with this weightloss journey.  My motivation to get past this point in my journey is…tough to find.

I don’t rely on scales to tell me much about myself but I know about where I am with my weight and know my measurements.  Based on that and some increases in what I’ve been lifting…I’ve stayed pretty much around the same weight…maybe gained a few pounds but I’ve also gained some muscle and definition in other areas.  I’ve still got a long ways to go with this body and I know I’ve made progress throughout this entire journey…this is just one of those flat parts that seem to be going on FOREVER and my motivation to make big changes is…well…hard to find at times.

My thoughts that go through my head each day the past few months are something like this…

  • “I want to lose 10 more pounds but I really want to eat that cake.  I’m eating the cake.”
  • “I know I should be reaching for water but coffee is just SO YUMMY!”
  • “Sleeping in sounds soooo good…I’m going to sleep in today.”
  • “I’ll eat this today and tomorrow I’ll eat better.”

Any of these sound familiar to you?

I can’t change what I’ve ate or haven’t done since February, but I can change things starting today.

Yesterday I decided that I needed to be more accountable with my choices in food and exercising.  I needed to put these choices towards the front of my thinking again and make these a priority in my to-do’s each day.  I need to go to the gym with a plan and put in my own workouts right along with the classes that I teach.  I need to work harder at this journey and quite frankly…be held accountable in some way.

I  need two things to help get myself off this plateau and kick my butt into gear again:

  1. some way to track what I eat and what I do for workouts.
  2. people to do this along with me that will bug me, pester me and not let me fail.

A long time ago I used a website called My Fitness Pal to help me get back on track and see what I was eating.  It keeps track of all the nitty gritty stuff for you, like the amounts of protein, carbs, sugar, water…and even has some easy ways to do this, like a scanner!  You just put the barcode by your phone and zap it…and then it puts it in your food log for the day.  How awesome is that?!  I can keep track of my exercises as well and look back easily to see my progress.  (In fact…the last time I logged in…which was a very long time ago…I was doing bicep curls with 10 pounds.  Yesterday I did them with 22.5 pounds in each arm.  It was very motivating to look at that history and see the progress I’ve made with that exercise.)  The only thing I have to do is put the items in each day.  With an app on my phone…this really can’t be any easier.  So, step 1 is done.  I’ll be using www.myfitnesspal.com to help kick start this part of my journey again.

download (4)Step 2 is where I need some help from all of you.  I NEED PEOPLE TO JOIN ME!  Take this post as your personal invitation to sign up, login (even if it has been awhile) and add me as a friend.  I need the accountability and if others are bothering me and keeping tabs on what I’m eating and doing…I know that I will be better at this.

So…who’s with me?  I’ve already got 3 people that are joining me.  I’d love to see a group of us at The Journey using this website as accountability.  It’s free and it is really easy to use.  And…you can bug me and I can bug you when it says “it has been 2 days since _______ has logged in to myfitnesspal”.  😉

How do I find you?  It’s pretty simple, really.  There are 2 ways that I have found to work where I can add people:

  1. add me by my e-mail address:  mominmn@gmail.com or, 
  2. add me as a friend on Facebook and then add me as a friend on myfitnesspal.com:  www.facebook.com/mominmn  (if you go this method, let me know in the friend request who you are and that you are adding me for myfitnesspal…otherwise I may not click that word “accept”)

Ok, I’m ready!  Time to really see what I’m eating and doing…ARE YOU READY?

377745_10152607260160145_220440808_n– Jessica

 

2 thoughts on “The “A” Word…accountability

  1. Karen

    I will be getting a smart phone soon, and then I would like to do this. In fact, this is good motivation for me to get that new phone, thanks. I need friends to bug me, too. I am not nearly up to your level of fitness, but I am way ahead of where I was 5 months ago, and I want to keep progressing, both in fitness and eating habits.

    Like

    Reply
    1. mominminnesota Post author

      Yay! 🙂 You are doing a great job, Karen! You can start with the website too and just plug in what you are doing there…you don’t need a phone (but it does make it easier). Just keep moving forward…you are doing AWESOME! – Jessica

      Like

      Reply

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

