Book Study Coming Soon!

One of the things that was highly influential in my journey and quest to take better care of myself was reading the book Made to Crave by Lysa TerKeurst. I (Cori here) was the leader of a small group that went through the book and its accompanying DVD lessons and study guide. I enjoyed reading the book the most.

069_1I toyed with the idea of discussing this book with y’all during the summer, but the randomness of my routine made me reconsider. Now, I’d like to go through it starting in the fall. (And by “fall” I mean “after Labor Day,” cause, you know, fall has a few starting points.)

This is a book written by a Christian author and speaker, so it is very heavy on the Christian faith. Jessica and I share that faith, but we aren’t here to preach or push that on others. I do think there are concepts in the book that could be applied to your life even if you don’t share my faith. When I previously went through the book, several people applied the concepts to other areas in their life, not just eating.

The subtitle of the book is: Satisfying your deepest desire with God, not food. We were made with deep desires and cravings that are meant to be filled by God, not other people, things, work or food. Lysa shares her own struggles with emotional eating, yo-yo dieting and the frustration of always saying she would “try again Monday.” Most of us know the “how-to” to a healthier life, we just need help getting the “want-to.” The book helps give you the “want-to” and addresses why dieting doesn’t work, body image, cravings and much more.

As we transition into fall, it’s a great time to adjust routines and make some small changes in our lives. I, for one, need to get back on track with healthier eating and a more consistent exercise routine. Um, hello?! Jessica and I are doing the Warrior Dash one month from yesterday!  I am not ready. I need to get working. So, anyway, I think going through this book will be beneficial for me, and maybe you’ll find it helpful, too.

I’m posting about this today in case you want to pick up a copy of the book and read it along with me. We’ll start going through the book on Thursdays starting September 5. I will start with an introduction to the study that day, and then we’ll start reading the chapters for September 12. There is an introduction and 19 chapters, so we’ll discuss two per week for 10 weeks.

So, are you in? Has anyone read this book? Who wants to join me?

You can read more about the book here: Made to Crave.

There are several resources available, including a study guide, DVD series, a version for younger women, a devotional guide and a red book with an action plan. We’ll be doing the basic book, for lack of a better term, pictured in this post. It’s around $11.49 for a paperback and $9 for an electronic version on most book websites. I’ll let you know if I find a cheaper version between now and when we start the study.

Made to Crave Study

_____

Cori Drost

Cori is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change.

3 thoughts on “Book Study Coming Soon!

  1. Francesca

    Nice little Blog, we enjoyed the read, uplifting, funny & some good ideas. Good luck with your Warrior Dash.. 🙂 We would like to add you to our Blog Roll, if that’s OK? #GetFitandHealthy

    Like

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Made to Crave Book Study | The Journey

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

