Made to Crave: Intro & Chap. 1

Welcome to our first discussion of Made to Crave by Lysa TerKeurst! Whether you are jumping in with two feet or just barely sticking a toe in the water with this book, I hope you feel welcome here!

Made to Crave Introduction Chapter 1So, if you’re new to The Journey, I’m Cori. Jessica and I write here about our own journeys to better health. We have different stories and different things that have worked for us. Our hope is that as we share our stories, you are inspired to improve your own story in a way that works for you. I actually went through Made to Crave about two years ago. I could re-tell my whole story, but it is easier if you just click right here and read what I wrote a while back. 🙂 If you don’t want to click over to that post, the nutshell version is that Made to Crave was an important part of my decision to make my health a priority.

With that, I totally relate to what Lysa says in the introduction to this book: I have always liked to eat, and who cares if it is junk food, if I’m hungry, I’m going to eat it. I had never been on a diet in my life, but I certainly made promises to myself to eat healthier or exercise more or just “be better.” I usually started off gung-ho for a day and then gave up very quickly. “I’ll try again tomorrow” was a lie I told myself often. What really struck me the first time through the book was her description on page 18 of feeling freedom with her food issues. In all truthfulness, I read the intro at first and was skeptical until I reached the line, “My soul felt free.” I wanted that freedom. Even though I had never dieted, I still felt the guilt and shame for not eating better. Freedom sounded good. And, now that it is two  years later on my journey, I can agree with her statement. I do feel freedom — not perfection, by any means — but freedom from the guilt and shame and the cycle of overeating. I have more self control and I don’t feel deprived when making good choices. (More on those topics in future chapters.)

How did the introduction speak to you? Do you relate to Lysa’s struggles? If we were meeting in my living room or at a coffee shop, I suspect we would have good discussion here. But, since we’re meeting online, it can be a bit of a challenge to feel like we can really chat. Just a little reminder that you can comment on the post below to join our discussion or be added to our Facebook group for a slightly more private option. I guess it’s good we’re not meeting at a coffee shop so we’re not tempted by all the bad choices we could consume there, huh? 😉

As we move on to Chapter 1, I have a confession to make. As I wrote previously about how this study would work, I said even those who do not share my faith could learn something from this book. I still think that’s true, but the core of this book is really spelled out in Chapter 1: we are made to crave … God. So, while I want everyone to feel welcome here, we are going to be doing a lot of talking about God. There’s no getting around it.

I wholeheartedly agree with Lysa that we were designed to crave God. That old saying “there’s a God-sized hole in our soul” is true, and we spend a lot of time trying to fill it up with other things like money, relationships, shoes, activities, sex, drugs and rock-n-roll. And, apparently, food. I really never considered my food issues had anything to do with God. Yes, I lacked self-control and healthy habits, but … oh well! I thought I just needed more discipline or motivation or something, and I never asked God about it. I certainly never thought my cravings could be a blessing if I used them to seek God instead of food.

How did you feel about Chapter 1? Are you intrigued? Skeptical? Did any of her questions at the end strike a chord with you?

Assignment for next week, Sept. 19: Read Chapters 2 & 3.

Can I leave you with a little song? I recently heard it on the radio a couple times, and I had it on repeat as I was typing this post. I think it’s totally fitting as we talk about craving God and not letting anything in this world get in the way of that. It’s also really fun, dance-around-your-kitchen-while-you-avoid-that-brownie kind of music. 🙂

_____

Cori Drost

Cori is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change.

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

