The reason I do what I do…and day 11 of the 14 Day Bodyweight Challenge

start nowAs a fitness instructor I can’t talk about specifics about those attending classes but I do want to share a few things that are happening lately that are JUST. PLAIN. AWESOME!

Here we go…see if you can relate to any of these:

  • brand new people in class are pushing those who are used to their “normal” to kick it up a notch.
  • the workouts are planned with specific purposes and muscle groups and explained as we go and you actually can feel those muscle groups working (or the soreness factor of those working muscles the next day)
  • you try something new in the class that you have never tried before…and you did a great job at it!
  • you leave the class knowing that you just did a really good job, you pushed yourself and there is a huge smile on your face.

Lately I am hearing a lot of the same thing though…“you don’t do a typical class”…and for awhile that was kindof hitting a nerve.  There wouldn’t be many details about what “typical” meant and the words “everyone teaches differently” would be uttered at times too.  Nothing like telling someone that they are different but not giving any real definition if that is good, bad, how to improve, what they like, etc.  That is like your boss saying “you work differently than your co-worker” and then walking away.

Here is the honest truth…I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started teaching classes since…well, I never went to many myself.  The ones I did go to though either made me feel like I could succeed, weren’t challenging enough or made me feel like a loser.  The rest of the classes out there…I was just too scared to even try because I thought I would pass out or just look like a failure in front of a big group of people.  That’s the facts…and I’m pretty sure a lot of you feel the same way.

I don’t want people to feel like a loser.  I try to make my classes so they are successful for anyone that walks through that door.  But, I also want people to know how to push themselves, learn a few things to do at home in case they ever can’t get to a gym and I want them to become more confident with strength training and the different techniques that we do in cycling.  I also want people to feel successful…because if they are walking through those doors they are already beating the odds.

That’s where we are at with this challenge.  The door is open and you have to decide if you are going to go in and try or if you are just going to keep on walking by.

I know what it is like to walk on by…and I never got the results that I was looking for by being a bystander.

Oh, Jessica…you were never a bystander.  

Yes I was…and here are a few examples of what I used to do…

  • walking on the treadmill and watch as others were lifting weights wondering what the heck they were doing those things for and why they would want to.  I mean, really?!  Some would even just walk around for about 30 seconds to a minute after they lifted stuff…what was the point of that?  Why go from one machine to the next too?  Can’t you just finish what you are doing?
  • I’d be on the elliptical and see people every Tuesday and Thursday morning come out of the cycle room covered in sweat and smiling.  I wasn’t real sure what their problem was because that really didn’t look like something to smile about.  Plus, they were all wearing these tank top things that I wasn’t comfortable in and if I had to wear that…I would never step into that room.
  • Riding the stationary bike I would watch the trainers and how they were working with clients.  Some of those people were huffing and puffing when they were done, red faces like they were getting too hot and yet they were still coming back week after week.  (FYI…no work was done on the ellipticals, treadmills or stationary bikes by the trainers I was watching)
  • I would get a little ticked off if there weren’t treadmills or ellipticals open
  • wonder why the scale was never moving

I now understand that everything I was watching was soon going to be my future…but as I was watching I soaked innot overnight every minute and learned so much.   I analyzed, Googled machines and found out what they were for and learned how strength training was really the part of fitness that I was missing with my own journey.

Class this morning was alot of pushing that comfortable factor with our squats and some members even added weight to a bar for the first time and threw it on their back like it was nothing.  Last week…there was no one that wanted to bump up their weights from their norm but today…today I encouraged them a little bit more and let them know that they CAN do it.  I knew that this was something that they could do and they proved it to themselves.  It was amazing to watch the smiles that came across their faces as they realized that this was something they just accomplished and that they don’t have to be afraid of it anymore.

That.  That is why I teach.  That is why I write what I do here at The Journey.  That is why we have challenges for you that I KNOW you can accomplish.

The choice is yours and now you get to decide…do I work hard and finish this challenge? or do I keep on walking by?

Getting healthy and moving more is not always fun.  I know that.  But you have to make a choice and decide if you are ready for results or if you are ok with how you are right now…because only one of those questions above will bring results.

What are you going to decide to do today?

Are you doing the 14 Day Bodyweight Challenge?  Day 11 is just below here…If you want to start from Day 1…you can find the link for the start right here.

Thanks for being part of The Journey!

20130717-222549.jpg-Jessica

Jessica is a mom to 3 (and a yellow lab puppy that just learned how to sit today!), wife to 1 and fitness instructor at two locations in Rochester, MN.  She is passionate about helping women gain confidence, learn how to get healthy and get out of the cardio rut.

 

 

Day 11 of the 14 Day Bodyweight Challenge

Side Planks – do each side 2 to 5 times.  Example…do the right side, slowly move to the left and complete left side, back to the right and just keep repeating.

Burpees – (info below from Bodybuilding.com)

To perform a Burpee:

 Begin in a squat position with hands on the floor in front of you.

 Kick your feet back to a pushup position*.

 Immediately return your feet to the squat position.

 Leap up as high as possible from the squat position.

Repeat, moving as fast as possible. You should maintain a fast pace for this exercise. Strive for maximum height with each jump. Most athletes will average between 12 and 15 repetitions per 30 seconds.

Slide12

One thought on “The reason I do what I do…and day 11 of the 14 Day Bodyweight Challenge

  1. Pingback: Just give it a try…Day 14 of the 14 Day Bodyweight Challenge | The Journey

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

