Day 1: I Survived the First Day (and a Disclaimer)

Eating Paleo 31 DaysI’m going to start with a little disclaimer: eating healthy is not an easy habit for me. I just wanted to make sure everyone understood that before I jump into this 31 Days of Eating Paleo. If you’re new here, you can go read my story. I’m a picky eater who only recently started eating lettuce. I would say that generally my meals aren’t too bad, although they are never 100 percent Paleo. I’ve tamed my snacking from what it used to be, so I’m doing better. But, I’m certainly not someone who craves veggies every afternoon.

What’s that old saying? A picture says a thousand words …

Paleo pop?

Paleo pop?

That was my computer as I was making the little graphic for this series. Pay no attention to the green, shiny can sitting on the table. Ahem. I’m not a perfect eater. I’ve had more of those green, shiny cans lately than I care to admit. It is my vice. I will conquer it this month, but I’m sure it will remain a temptation for the rest of my life.

I also don’t think this little venture will be easy. I’ve given up sugar and wheat in the past, but this is a whole new ballgame. When I gave up sugar, it always had “ish” rules. I still allowed yogurt and oatmeal that had sugar in them. I used honey for some peanut butter balls. (Oh yum!) And giving up just wheat is entirely different than completely giving up grains. Not to mention, when I’ve given up sugar in the past, cheese was my friend and go-to snack.

Now that we’ve cleared all that up, Day 1 is in the books! And I survived! It was kind of a weird day to start because it was not my typical routine. I went on a field trip with my 2nd-grade daughter’s class, so our morning was a little extra hectic, and we had to bring along a lunch. I halfway thought about postponing a day, but that wouldn’t have helped anything. I was just the only person near me not eating a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

Meals:

Breakfast: banana and scrambled eggs. (Like I said, it was a bit hectic this morning. I should probably consume a bit more in the future.)

Lunch: (sack lunch) Hard-boiled eggs, olives, grapes, apple and almonds.

Snack: The rest of the almonds and some grape tomatoes.

Supper: (Do you call it dinner or supper where you live?) Grilled chicken breast, broccoli and raspberries.

012_1

Lunch was probably not enough food. I intended to get some veggies, but ran out of time. I had a headache and was very tired in the late afternoon. It might have been partly related to being out in the bright sun all day. Mostly I felt like I did when I gave up sugar in the past and was definitely craving some sugar or bread. I felt much better after eating supper.

I’ve already changed my strategy, though. I was just going to try to wing-it this week and focus on surviving, then add some more meal planning and recipes next week. I can already see I need a better plan. Staring into the refrigerator is not a good plan. I’ll be looking at some Paleo recipe books I have and getting more strategic starting tomorrow morning.

 

_____

Cori Drost

Cori is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. And she needs a new picture, because her hair is longer now.

8 thoughts on “Day 1: I Survived the First Day (and a Disclaimer)

  1. Tara

    Awesome topic! We’ve been eating Paleo for 2 years -and it’s changed our lives (my husband down 60 pounds, me 20) – but more importantly we feel GOOD!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Cori D. Post author

      Wow, Tara! That’s amazing! Thanks for stopping by! I can’t get enough of the “I feel good” testimonials, cause that’s why I’m doing this.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Amanda

    Found your blog from The Nester 🙂
    I just finished my whole30 and reintroduced dairy yesterday. It took me awhile to figure out how to build my plate so I wasn’t crazy hungry between meals, but once I did things got much better. I travel a lot so I had to supplement with snacks fairly often…mixed nuts + dried cranberries, Larabars, and carrot sticks were my go to’s. I blogged about my experience, but haven’t posted any recipes yet. Hopefully, I can get to that in a few days in case it will help you out! Stupid Easy Paleo and Nom Nom Paleo supplied me with a lot of my favorites. Good luck!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Cori D. Post author

      Thanks for stopping by, Amanda! And thank you for the recipe resources! That will be very helpful. I’m already looking forward to reintroducing dairy. 😉

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Our Top Posts | The Journey

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

