Day 3: ‘Mom, why do you take pictures of your food?’

My son, age 9, asked me tonight, “Why are you taking pictures of your food? How come when you eat healthy you take pictures of what you eat?”

Good question, Buddy! 😉 Do you like the pictures with the posts? I feel like it makes them more interesting.

Today went well, I think. I’m thankful for honest people who don’t steal your wallet when you accidentally leave it at the public library while searching for books on Paleo eating. There is a typical pattern for how people feel while doing Whole30, described in the graphic below, as their body adjusts to eating differently. Maybe I can blame the “hangover” for my wallet forgetfulness?

Whole30

I’ve warned my husband this weekend could be rough. 😉

Really, I haven’t felt that bad, especially today. I’ve had zero headaches today, which I had a couple minor ones the first few days. I get really tired in the late afternoon, but then usually perk up after eating supper. I should probably eat more at lunch, something I will try to work on.

I’m also still having major sugar and bread cravings. I may have smelled the buns my family ate at supper. I was also tempted to kiss this girl, just to get some of the chocolate from her face. I kid. I kid.

Chocolate Smile

Today’s meals:

Breakfast: Banana and scrambled eggs.

Snack: Apple pie flavored Larabar. (I caved and bought some. It was yummy!) Whole30 recommends not snacking, but I was starving and getting ready to walk with my husband before eating lunch, so I needed something.

Lunch: Paleo Sesame Beef and Broccoli from Paleoaholic.com (It was pretty good, but our beef was dry, so we’d make some changes if we make it again. We also were without Coconut Aminos, which is a soy sauce type without the soy.)

Paleo Beef and Broccoli

Supper: My family had burgers. I improvised with a burger topped with avocado and tomato. I also made a Strawberry Pecan Salad from the book 25 Paleo Lunch Recipes.

Paleo Burger Strawberry Pecan SaladThanks for following along! Don’t miss our giveaway going on right now!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Day 3: ‘Mom, why do you take pictures of your food?’

    1. Cori D. Post author

      That’s a good question. There are several beef & broccoli recipes online without sea same oil. I picked this particular recipe because it didn’t need much of the coconut aminos. I only looked at one store for that, so I might keep looking. I would say that I didn’t love the seasme flavor, but it was ok.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Jerimi

    Oh yum! That salad especially looks tasty. And leave it to a 9 year old to ask that question. Love it. I went through a terrific “carb flu” period after going Primal. It does eventually go away. Hope you feel better, soon!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Cori D. Post author

      The salad was very good! The dressing was a mixture of sweet and tart, which made it very tasty! I haven’t hit the “flu” stage … yet. Good to be prepared, though, and know it is likely coming soon.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Molly

    Today is my day one and I happened to find your blog…what great motivation! Thank you and I look forward to following behind you on this journey! Although I might have a diet coke in hand along the way!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Our Top Posts | The Journey

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

