Day 5 & 6: Travel is Tricky

Eating Paleo 31 DaysI got home too late last night to post about Day 5, but I might just combine all of the weekend posts. I try not to spend a ton of time online on the weekends, so it will make more sense to combine the posts. I’m sure you won’t mind.

Day 5 was spent out of town, traveling with my family. We spent Friday night in a hotel and Saturday driving along the Mississippi River to explore and catch some fall color. We had a great time, but it made eating kind of tricky. We had free breakfast at our hotel, which, if you’ve ever had hotel breakfasts, is high on grains. This trip is a tradition thing for our family, and we traditionally pick up sub sandwiches for a picnic lunch and have pizza or fast food for supper. So, I had to really plan ahead and prepare some food that I could eat.

First, and update from Day 4. I posted in our car before eating supper, and it was pretty yummy, so I had to share. I made a Paleo Chicken Salad from Amee’s Savory Dish. That required making Paleo mayo, which I followed the recipe and video from The Clothes Make the Girl. The chicken salad was very tasty, and worked great for my supper on Friday night.

Paleo Chicken SaladPaleo Chicken Salad

Now back to Saturday:

Breakfast: (At the hotel) Turkey sausage, hard boiled eggs and a banana.

Lunch: The rest of the chicken salad, lettuce salad, olives, carrots and fruit.

080

Supper: I grazed a lot on snacks for supper. The rest of the family had drive-thru, and I ate some almonds, raisins, a Larabar, apples and hard boiled egg.

Today, Sunday, was a little rushed in the morning as we tried to get to church. Then, I was pretty crabby and tired, although I don’t feel like I’m crazy craving sugar and bread as bad as before. They still sound really yummy, of course, but the “oh-my-word-I-really-want-some-sugary-bready-something” feelings have calmed down. I had to laugh as I read my kindergarten daughter’s library book tonight. I just can’t escape the forbidden foods. 😉

121

Breakfast: Larabar (I might be addicted to those) and a banana.

Lunch: Chicken breast, salad, olives and grapes.

Supper: Hard boiled eggs and apples. We were rushing to get out the door again, so I need to eat a bit more before I go to bed, I think.

_____

Cori Drost

Cori is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. And she needs a new picture, because her hair is longer now.

2 thoughts on “Day 5 & 6: Travel is Tricky

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

