Day 11: Pizza Night Without a Pity Party

On a typical Friday night, my family orders pizza and has “Friday Family Fun Night,” where we watch a movie, play a game or do some other family activity. Because we were traveling last weekend, this was my first FFF pizza night to deal with. I love pizza, so I was wondering how tonight might go, especially considering my attitude issues over the last two days. My kids also had the day off from school, so we were planning a trip to Des Moines for some shopping and a visit to the Science Center. I was worried about this adventure, too, because I figured we would eat at a mall food court, and I wasn’t sure if I would be able to find anything to eat. Thankfully, I was able to figure out solutions to both of my problems.

Eating Paleo 31 DaysToday was forecast to be 80 degrees, and possibly the last really warm day of the year. (I hope not!) I was feeling like the shopping/Science Center trip was robbing my kids of a chance to be outside. Then, I had a brilliant idea! Why not skip the food court and just pack a picnic lunch? I felt like saying, “Duh, Mom!” to myself. Interestingly, it was not anywhere near 80 degrees when we were eating lunch, so we moved our picnic into our van. Ha! But, we did play at a playground for a while, so we still enjoyed the great outdoors.

My second solution came while I was driving to Des Moines. I was daydreaming about pizza and wondering how I was going to watch my family eat one of my favorite foods. I gave up pizza before when I had a “no wheat” month, but I could still eat some cauliflower crust pizza. Tsh from Simple Mom wrote about her Whole30 experience last spring, and I remembered her post that said it was important to focus on what she could eat, not on what she could not eat. So, that’s what I did. I started thinking about what would be really tasty for supper, and I decided I needed some more sweet potatoes. (See recipe from Day 8.) And, just like that, I was done thinking about pizza! By focusing on what yummy food I could eat, I didn’t have to throw a pity party about what I couldn’t eat. Yes, the pizza — especially the breadsticks — looked very good, but I honestly didn’t feel deprived.

Today’s meals:

Breakfast: Bacon (not too crispy this time), scrambled eggs and strawberries.

Bacon eggs

Lunch: Picnic with leftover turkey (I took the picture after I ate about half of it), olives, tomatoes, strawberries, grapes and almonds.

picnic lunch

Supper: Leftover pork and sweet potatoes.

pork sweet potatoes

__________________________

Cori

Cori is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change.

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

