Days 12 & 13: A Couple Cheats — Gasp! — But Not Really

It’s true. I had a couple cheats this weekend. BUT! That’s kind of a tease, because I think you will all agree I didn’t really cheat. 😉 Here’s how it all went down.

Eating Paleo 31 DaysSaturday morning I had a women’s retreat with my church. The retreat included lunch, so I had asked around ahead of time to find out what was being served. There was going to be fruit and some bakery treats served for “breakfast” and salad, soup (chicken & rice), bread and apple pie for lunch. I figured I could eat the fruit and salad and see how the soup looked when I arrived. I got up  kind of late due to being up until nearly 1 a.m. because I was watching a baseball game with my husband. (Go Cardinals!!) So, I rushed through some breakfast and headed off. I had thought about packing some food items to take along, but due to my rushing around, I didn’t. The retreat was great! The gal in charge of the food actually has some food issues herself, so she was so helpful and understanding (and not offended that I wasn’t eating all of her delicious food)! She told me to help myself to some of the leftover fruit at lunch, so I dumped that in my salad, since the salad was only lettuce and none of the dressing was Paleo approved. I actually didn’t feel deprived at all, even though all of the food looked soooo delicious! My biggest obstacle was that I didn’t want people to think I was starving myself, so I did have to explain why I wasn’t eating much while I was there. Thankfully, it was only to about three or four people, and everyone was very supportive and kind.

My first cheat came with the soup. I decided to get a bowl and see if I could fish out some of the chicken and veggies. I did a little, but the pieces were all very small, and I know I got a few grains of rice in my system. I also accidentally ate a tiny piece of crouton. I thought it was part of the fruit I had dumped into my salad. Oops! The funniest thing about that meal is there was a time, not so long ago, where I would have eaten everything BUT the salad. Change is possible, people. Change is possible.

The retreat was on someone’s farm in a building the family has turned into a cabin. The owners had placed some apples by the entrance to the cabin and offered them to us, so I grabbed a huge one and had it along with my skimpy lunch. I was home from the retreat by 3:00, so I had a bunch of almonds for a snack. I also avoided cheating at a Girl Scout Halloween dance I attended with my daughter. There were dozens of ghoulish looking treats. Normally I would have tried several and gone back for more. Not this time.

My second “cheat” came today at church. We had communion. I didn’t even think of this until the pastor was praying and said something about the bread. Needless to say, my prayer was interrupted by thoughts of “Oh yeah! The bread and the wine (juice). That’s not Paleo approved!” My church offers some gluten free crackers for those who need them, but they are still made of grains, I assume. I decided the tiny cracker square (it’s smaller than my smallest fingernail) and the tiny serving of juice were just fine. It was kind of funny, because my oldest was whispering, “MOM! You’re not supposed to eat that!”

So, there you have it, my scandalous cheats. 😉

Saturday:

Breakfast: Two hardboiled eggs and fruit.

Lunch: Lettuce, more mixed fruit and an apple.

Supper: Burger and fries! Well, a bunless burger and sweet potato fries and apples.

Paleo Burger Fries

Sunday:

Breakfast: Hardboiled eggs, olives and grapes. (It was a very oval meal.)

Lunch: My signature salad: (ha ha) lettuce, spinach, cucumbers, tomatoes, avocado and turkey.

Supper: Turkey, sweet potatoes and broccoli.

Turkey sweet potatoes broccoli

 

_____

CoriCori is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. 

6 thoughts on “Days 12 & 13: A Couple Cheats — Gasp! — But Not Really

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

