Day 14: Sugar is in EVERYTHING!

Eating Paleo 31 DaysSo, I have a confession. This time it might be a real cheat. I’ve been using our Lawry’s seasoning on beef and chicken that I’ve eaten. I never looked at the ingredient list until tonight. Number 2 on the list: sugar. Arg! It’s everywhere! Deli meats, bacon, spaghetti sauce … it all has sugar. How annoying! Why does it have to be in ev.er.y.thing?

On my menu for the week: spaghetti squash with some sauce, only I’ll have to find some sauce without sugar, I guess. And we’re having beef stew tomorrow. Guess what’s in the seasoning I usually use? Sugar. Cornstarch. Wheat stuff. I figured that, but geesh. I guess I’ll have two crockpots of stew going on tomorrow.

Other than my annoyance with sugar right now, today went pretty well. I was craving some sweet stuff more today than recent days, but that might be because I bought some chocolate chips at the store today. I didn’t eat them. I just bought them. And dreamed about eating some gooey chocolate chip cookies. Sigh. 😉

I guess this is a fairly short post. Here’s what I ate today:

Breakfast: Omelet with bacon (inside) and avocado.

omelet avocado

Lunch: Salad (spinach, romaine lettuce, red & yellow tomatoes, olives, turkey and pecans. Apple.

Supper: A burger again with avocado and tomato. Sweet potatoes (my new addiction). Apples.

We have a lot of apples from my Father-in-Law’s trees, so that’s why we’ve been eating so many lately. Yummo!

 

_____

CoriCori is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. 

6 thoughts on “Day 14: Sugar is in EVERYTHING!

  1. Lisa

    It’s amazing how we consume so much sugar and don’t even realize it! Beef Stew is on our list for this week, too. 🙂 I will be thinking of you when we have it.

    Like

    Reply

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

