Day 15: It’s the Halfway Mark

**Just a quick note to start: Our giveaway ends tomorrow, so click over and enter soon!**

Eating Paleo 31 DaysToday started off with a wellness check through my  husband’s employer. We had to fast for 12 hours and then give some blood and get some measurements this morning. We’ll get the full results next month, but I know my numbers have improved a lot since this time last year. I try not to focus on numbers, but it’s still nice to check-in every once in a while and see how things are going.

One of the numbers I got today was a Basal Metabolic Rate (BMR), and that is the number of calories your body needs to stay alive and keep your organs functioning. Whole30 recommends NOT counting calories or measuring food, as it sets us up for bad relationships with food. I am going to attempt to keep track of some calories over the next few days, however, just because I’m curious what number of calories I’m consuming. I’ll let you know what I find out. You can figure out your own BMR with a calculator here if you’d like to try it yourself.

Beef stew was on the menu for today, but I didn’t find a Paleo friendly recipe until late this morning, and I needed some ingredients I didn’t have on hand. (I’ve mentioned before, planning is key to this being successful!) I went to the store after lunch, but that didn’t give me enough time to get the stew ready for supper. So, I did a menu switcheroo, and we basically had a restaurant at my house this evening. I don’t recommend that, but sometimes you do what you gotta do.

Today’s Meals:

Breakfast:  Banana, grapes and an apple, provided after the blood draw, and two hardboiled eggs I brought along.

Lunch: Another salad. I’m not getting bored, yet, but I do vary the add-ons a little bit. Spinach, lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, avocado, turkey and pecans.

Supper: Leftover turkey (it’s still coming!), sweet potatoes and olives.

turkey sweet potatoes olives

 

_____

CoriCori is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. 

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

