Day 17: Experiments Sometimes Fail

Eating Paleo 31 DaysI was feeling a little bummed about today, because I experimented with some recipes, and, well, they weren’t the tastiest. It’s not exactly fun to spend a lot of time cooking something that you don’t enjoy eating and then have 8,000 dishes to do afterwards. (Side note: in college, a friend of mine and I discussed that whenever we exaggerated a number, it always had an 8 in it … 800, 8 million … You, too?) But, then I remembered my Made to Crave book study post from earlier today, and I decided to watch the music video from the end. (It’s Mandisa’s new song, Overcomer. The video shows people who have had very hard things happen in their lives.) Having a meal that wasn’t the greatest is a pretty small thing in the grand scheme of life. Attitude adjusted.

Today started out with no eggs in the house, so there’s not a lot of breakfasty options without eggs. I now have some more, so I’ll be eating a large plate full tomorrow.

Lunch was super yummy because I had leftover beef stew! There is more, too, so I know what I’m having for lunch tomorrow.

Supper was my experiment. I tried some Paleo ranch dressing and some spaghetti with Spaghetti Squash as the “noodles.” The ranch dressing turned out very runny and had very little taste to it. I has coconut milk in it. I bought what I could find, but maybe it wasn’t the right kind. I added some more ingredients to it and stuck it in the fridge, so maybe it will taste better tomorrow. Some rich, creamy ranch dressing sure sounds tasty.

spaghetti squash

Interestingly, the Spaghetti Squash for noodles wasn’t too bad. Not spectacular, but kind of noodly tasting. (And it looks noodly, too. See the picture at the bottom.) The bad part was my homemade spaghetti sauce. It was pretty bland. The recipe had mentioned “liberally” using some of the spices, and I thought I was pretty liberal. I guess I’m just too conservative. 😉 Anyway, there was leftover sauce, so I liberally added more spices to the remains and let it simmer some more. We’ll see how it tastes next time. I think I added too much garlic now. Watch out world! 😉

I won’t link to the recipes in today’s post, since I’m not sure I can fully recommend them to you. If you are dying to try some soupy ranch and some bland spaghetti sauce, shoot me an email and I’ll send you the links. 😉

Here’s today’s menu:

Breakfast: Banana, strawberries & almonds.

Lunch: Leftover beef stew and apples.

Supper: Spaghetti, green beans and a side salad.

003_4

002_6

 

_____

CoriCori is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. She has a degree in journalism and enjoys doing research and writing.

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

