Days 19 & 20: I’m an Official Grown Up

I decided I became an official grown up over the weekend. Why? I ordered a salad at a restaurant for the first time in my life. And it was good! 🙂

Eating Paleo 31 DaysI’ve had a couple side salads that came with a meal at a restaurant before, but I had never ordered a salad as a main dish. This one had chicken and guacamole on it, which gave it a yummy taste. It was date night on Saturday night, and my initial thought was, “Ug. Eating out is so hard!” Thankfully, my husband — who has been super supportive, by the way — suggested a place that has decent salads. I checked the menu online (super helpful!) and found a few options that would work. Even salad isn’t always Paleo friendly due to croutons, cheese and all the dressing. I brought along some of the dressing I have been using a lot (olive oil, vinegar, salt & pepper), but I didn’t need to use it because the salad was good without dressing.

Date night also got me thinking about why I was so crabby on Friday night. I realized that normally I have a few meals in a week that are kind of “no-brainers” and don’t require a lot of work. We order pizza on Friday night and usually have enough for leftovers another meal during the weekend. It’s nice to just have a night off from cooking or preparing food, you know? It has been much harder to have a quick, no-brainer meal lately. But, really, since most of the quick, no-brainer meals are not overly healthy, it is probably a good thing. 😉

I also was going to try to track my calorie intake over the last few days, but I haven’t done a very good job of that. I’ll see what I can do with that this week. It’s easiest to track calories with My Fitness Pal when you eat packaged food or from a restaurant. For example, I tried to find out my numbers on turkey one day, but it didn’t say what a serving size was, and my turkey doesn’t have a label anymore. 😉 Any suggestions on this? Who is an expert at tracking calories?

I did not take any photos over the weekend, but much of it is the same as the past, so you can click back to previous days if you want. 😉

Saturday:

Breakfast: I’m not 100 percent sure, but I think some scrambled eggs and a banana.

Lunch: Burger with avocado and tomato, sweet potatoes and apples.

Supper: The Cobb Salad from Smokey Row. (Without the dressing or croutons.)

Sunday:

Breakfast: Scrambled eggs and banana. (I need some breakfast variety. Oy!)

Lunch: Salad with spinach, romaine lettuce, cucumber, tomato, olives, turkey and pecans.

Supper: Chili. (It tasted better this time! Hooray!)

 

_____

CoriCori is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. She has a degree in journalism and enjoys doing research and writing.

2 thoughts on “Days 19 & 20: I’m an Official Grown Up

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

