Day 21: Today I Tortured Myself

Torture might be an extreme word to use, but this is an extreme eating plan, so I’m going to go with it. Tonight I made my family what I like to call “My Favorite Casserole.” It was, of course, off limits for me. I also baked some apple bread. My house currently smells like apple cinnamon delight. And, no, I didn’t cheat. But, seriously, what was I thinking? 😉

Actually, the casserole worked well, because I prepared chicken for the casserole and had a plain chicken breast for my supper and one ready for another meal this week. The whole family could have eaten my meal, but the chicken goes farther this way. And I Eating Paleo 31 Daysstarted to make some banana bread to use up some bananas, but the bananas I had were over-ripe, I think. So, since I already had a few ingredients mixed together, I started searching for an alternative. The apple bread recipe worked. It made two loaves, so I think one will go in the freezer so I can at least try it sometime.

I also had a good conversation with a friend today about this whole eating thing. She’s cut some things from her diet before, too, so we were discussing how you really get to the point where you don’t crave sugar and bread anymore. And, I’m there, but yet I a was still feeling ready to be done with this over the weekend. My friend made a good point in that it’s still a lot of work. And, I think that is the kicker. It’s hard to make changes — whatever those changes might be. We can cruise along for a while, but then we eventually hit a wall. It might be in your exercise routine, eating plan or some other aspect in your life. The important part about hitting a wall is not giving up. Go around the wall. Climb the wall. Let someone pull you over the wall. Just don’t let the wall be the end.

Isn’t there research that it takes 21 days to make a new habit stick? So, maybe I shouldn’t be so surprised that days 18-20 seemed hard. The habits haven’t stuck yet, but they are getting there. And, hey! Today is Day 21! Maybe these last 10 days will feel a bit more “normal” than the previous 21.

Today’s meals:

Breakfast: Scrambled eggs and a banana. I really need some variety. Can you tell I am usually pretty boring with breakfast?

Lunch: My salad I keep making. I should switch that up a bit, too.

001_9

Supper: Chicken breast, green beans and olives.

003_5

 

_____

CoriCori is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. She has a degree in journalism and enjoys doing research and writing.

2 thoughts on “Day 21: Today I Tortured Myself

  1. pamby57

    You should try something that you would never believe you could enjoy for “breakfast”. I really enjoy steamed veggies in the morning 🙂 I have been numbering my meals 1,2 &3 as suggested in a blog I read. It helps me to think of it as one of three meals instead of “breakfast”. I know that I have a lot more time than a busy mommy of three, and I am finding great pleasure in cooking…something that has been sorely lacking in my life. Hang in there you are almost to the end. Press on to the prize…

    Like

    Reply

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

