Day 23: Homemade Larabars

Eating Paleo 31 DaysToday’s project was to make some homemade Larabars, and they turned out great! (Maybe even better than the packaged variety!)

I used a recipe for apple pie flavored homemade bars from My Whole Food Life. The apple pie ones are probably the easiest to make for Whole30, because many of them have peanut butter or chocolate. I was hoping for the cherry pie ones, too, but all of the dried cherries I found have added sugar. The apple pie one just used unsweetened applesauce, dates, some nuts and cinnamon. They are pictured below. I already took a bite out of one. Tee hee.

apple pie larabars

I had been feeling kind of sluggish for a few days. It may have just been hormonal. I also realized I wasn’t drinking enough water. That seems to happen when the weather cools off. I have to force myself to drink water more because I’m just not as thirsty. I made sure to drink more water today, and I didn’t feel sluggish at all. I was also running a lot of errands, so I didn’t have any time to sit and feel tired, so we’ll see. I know I should be getting more water, though.

Here are my meals for today:

Breakfast: An omelet with bacon, red pepper and a little bit of spinach inside, and some leftover sweet potatoes.

001_11

Lunch: A “taco salad” with meat leftover from my family’s tacos on Tuesday.

002_9

Snack: Apple pie homemade Larabar.

Supper: Pork, apples and carrots.

004_4

And I was hungry this evening, so I had another of my apple pie bars. 🙂

I’m super excited about tomorrow because we’ll have a guest post! Don’t miss it! 🙂

 

_____

CoriCori is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. She has a degree in journalism and enjoys doing research and writing.

4 thoughts on “Day 23: Homemade Larabars

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

