Days 26 & 27: The Weekend

We are nearing the end of this little Paleo eating journey. I was doing great, but today seemed to have more cravings for a bunch of sugary stuff. Weird!

I will say that it seems my digestive system has not completely adjusted to how I am eating. I can’t say it’s horrible, but it’s not fabulous, either. I’m wondering if there is a food I Eating Paleo 31 Dayseat regularly that is causing me issues. Eggs and nuts are common allergens. And “nightshades” such as tomatoes, potatoes and certain peppers can also cause trouble. I decided to avoid eggs this weekend, but I didn’t notice any dramatic difference. (Although, two days is not very long.) I’m starting to wonder about nuts. I’ve probably been consuming too many almonds. It’s hard to do too much more experimenting, as I only have a few days left. I also had my gallbladder removed several years ago, so I spent some time tonight reading about people having trouble with certain foods because of their gallbladder removal. I’m not sure if I should continue my Whole30 longer to remove a few more foods and see if I have a noticeable difference. I might try that this week …. I’m undecided, though, because I’m looking forward to being done. I’ll keep you posted.

My kids requested a fruit meal for lunch on Saturday, so I was happy to oblige. I did recommend they have some protein, too, so they had peanut butter sandwiches. Ha! No-go for Mom. 😉

I experimented with a crockpot beef recipe today. We have some round steak that was given to us, and it’s a fairly tough meat, so we’ve had moderate success with it in a crockpot. I tried and liked a recipe from Lynn’s Kitchen Adventures. Since I can’t use the cornstarch in the recipe, I was going to substitute some almond flour. I later read that almond flour isn’t very starchy, so it’s not a good substitute for gravy-type foods. So, I followed the crockpot instructions, let it cook all afternoon and then transferred it to a pan on the stove. Then I could “reduce” the liquid by letting it cook for a while. It was very tasty, and I’ll have a ready-made meal for tomorrow with the leftovers!

This weekend’s meals:

Saturday:

Breakfast: Chicken breast, broccoli and strawberries. (Can’t say I’ve ever had that for breakfast before!)

001_13

Lunch: Apples, strawberries and almonds.

Supper: Leftover pork, sweet potatoes and carrots. (A fairly boring color palate. 😉 )

037

Sunday: (I forgot to take any pictures today. Oops!)

Breakfast: Two homemade Larabars.

Lunch: Salad with lettuce, spinach, cucumbers, tomatoes and pecans.

Supper: Crockpot beef (from above) and sweet potatoes.

 

_____

CoriCori is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. She has a degree in journalism and enjoys doing research and writing.

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

