Made to Crave: Chapters 14 & 15

We’re plugging along on our book study! I hope you are learning a lot about yourself through this book. If you have missed any of the weeks, you can go back to the introduction post where you will find a link to each week. I have also added a link from our Challenges page up at the top of our site. Feel free to jump in at your own pace!

M2C Chap 14 15This week we are starting with Chapter 14. This is a very personal chapter about discovering the emotional triggers you might have that lead to overeating. In Lysa’s case, many emotional issues she has point back to the fact that her dad left when she was a young girl. We all have had rough patches in our lives, and many of you have had horrible tragedies take place. It takes time and support to work through issues. It is often tempting to turn to food when we are feeling down, but the truth is food cannot fix those issues. We must seek emotional support from others or even trained professionals to gain healing from the turmoil and tragedies this life can produce.

My biggest trigger for eating poorly is stress. I used to think I wasn’t an emotional eater because I didn’t feel I ate to drown my sorrows or out of loneliness. But, my reaction to stress is an emotional thing, too. The more I think about stress, the more I realize most of it is self-induced by either my lack of preparation for something or my unrealistic expectations. So, over the past few years, I’ve been — very slowly — working on improving those areas. My journey to better health has helped, too, as our bodies can better respond to stress when we have proper nutrition and exercise. I will not help myself by eating a bunch of junk when I’m feeling stressed. In fact, that will make things worse in the long run.

How about you? Have you identified some things that trigger emotional eating? 

Oh how I relate to Chapter 15! Coming off my Paleo eating challenge, I have very recently had some of the same thoughts Lysa had. “I’ve done so well for so long!” “Just a little bit won’t hurt!” It definitely feels like a battle when you have boundaries in an eating plan. It is so important to focus on what you can have and not what you can’t have. If you are having a hard time resisting something you know you shouldn’t eat, get yourself psyched up for a healthy choice instead. (You can read about my pizza battle here.) We have to re-focus our thoughts.

On the other hand, since I’m not on a strict plan right now, it is so much harder for me to make choices. I can have that item that was off limits before, so I have more choices and more battles sometimes. Boundaries can be a blessing! When we know we have to say “no” we might feel more empowered to do the right thing. When the choices are more abundant, it becomes harder to make the right choice. So, try seeing your boundaries as a blessing next time they seem like a curse.

We are nearing the end of our book challenge … only two weeks left. We’ll finish just in time for the holiday season to kick off! Yikes! We better work hard at establishing our boundaries so we don’t waste all our hard work once the holiday temptations hit!

And, most importantly, we have God’s power on our side. He is for us, not against us! Sometimes we just need to be reminded of that to help us push through temptation.

What kind of temptations do you have when you are on a specific eating plan? 

For next week, read chapters 16 & 17.

I didn’t have a song for the week until I typed that line before the end … “God is for us!”

_____

CoriCori is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. She has a degree in journalism and enjoys doing research and writing.

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

