Made to Crave: Chapters 16 & 17

Here we are! Next week will be our last in our Made to Crave book study! I hope you have been learning a lot about yourself and how desperately God loves you!

M2C Chap 16 17This week we jump in to Chapter 16. Did this chapter sound familiar? Maybe because it starts out with stuff Jessica and I have been writing about since Day 1 of The Journey? Infomercials lead us to think if we just find the right program, it will save us. If I just find that one, perfect fitness plan, class or special diet, I will finally gain victory. But, what really works is the small changes made over time. Lysa uses the word journey several times in this chapter. We like the word journey. 😉

Diets don’t work, because we make temporary changes and then revert to our old habits. If we work to change our habits, like Jessica is in her Small Changes Challenge right now, we will see results that last. I cringed a little every time someone asked me about my “diet” when I was eating Paleo. I would explain that it was more of an experiment than a diet, but so many people just don’t see it that way. We need to re-define that word! Your diet is simply what you eat. It can be healthy, unhealthy, or like most of us, somewhere in between. “Don’t go on a diet, change your diet!” (A slogan from a health food store in Des Moines.)

The two elephants she talked about are important. No one is saying you can never have treats again, and no one is adding something else to your religious “to-do” list. We are talking about putting our relationship with God first in our lives and living in freedom with Him — freedom from food addiction, freedom from emotional eating, freedom from the “diet” cycle. When I first read this book, I was so intrigued by this idea of freedom, and how Lysa felt so much freedom. Doesn’t it sound awesome to feel like food isn’t an issue anymore?! I’m starting to get there, and I must say, it is a good place to be.

Chapter 17 asks the very important question: Is change sustainable? Can we maintain discipline forever? I think it depends. As she says in the book, it depends on if we rely on our own strength or if we let God be our strength. I think it also depends on how we changed. Did we make small and sustainable changes over time? Or did we do something radical that is harder to sustain. We have to first depend on God, and we have to make wise choices.

I am coming off my Paleo eating month, and I’m learning very quickly that I am not good with moderation. Yes, I survived Paleo for one month, but as I have added back some non-Paleo foods, my crazy cravings have all returned with madness. I’m pretty much ready to go back to the strict eating (although after pizza night tomorrow. ha!) As much as I enjoy some non-Paleo foods, I’ve now experienced that self control is so much better. I’m seeing how I react to certain foods physical, but also emotionally and mentally. It ain’t pretty. It doesn’t help that I don’t feel well today. The only foods that sound good to me are the old comfort foods, junk food basically. I’m sure eating them is not helping my body heal.

So, that’s where I am today, realizing that sustained discipline is very hard for me. I need to do a better job of seeking God’s strength and I need to look at some small changes I can make in my life right now.

Next week is our last week! Read Chapters 18 & 19!

Our song for this week:

I wasn’t sure on a song this week, so I’m just picking one of my favorites. I think it works.

 

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

