Today’s Assignment: Say ‘No’ to Something

I am supposed to post here every Thursday. No one is holding me to this assignment but me. I like writing here, and I need deadlines, so the Monday and Thursday post “deadlines” keep me doing this thing I enjoy. I have started a post on what I have learned from eating Paleo, and what I have learned from returning to “normal” food. However, it is not finished, and it won’t be posted today.

Photo by Morton Fox

Photo by Morton Fox

This has been a hectic week. And this is a hectic season. Are you feeling it? Every year I tell myself, “This doesn’t need to be stressful! Let’s enjoy this wonderful season!” And every year I feel stressed.

So, today I am saying “No” to one responsibility so that I can more fully focus on other responsibilities. I want you to do the same. Pick one thing from your to-do list and just don’t do it. Don’t quit your job or your workout or run away from home. Use a little wisdom in your choice. But, pick something that is hanging over your head and causing stress and skip it. You know what it is. It was probably the first thing that popped into your head when you started reading this paragraph.

I posted a couple links on our Facebook page the other day to some articles about stress symptoms and what to do about it. It is really, really good information, so I’ll post them here, too, in case you didn’t see them. (Facebook really, really limits the number of people who see our posts there, so consider subscribing to the blog on the right side of this page if you don’t want to miss most of what we say.)

We want you to eat better and exercise better, but your mental and emotional health are just as important as your physical health. They are all interrelated, so if one area is off, likely the others are, too.

Need more encouragement to say “No” to something? Here are a few more posts I’ve read recently:

I need to go now, cause I’m not writing here today, remember? 😉 What are you going to say “No” to? Let us know in the comments!

 

_____

CoriCori is a wife, mom of three and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. She has a degree in journalism and enjoys doing research and writing.

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

