Granola Recipe…and the newest writer at The Journey!

A few months ago I started bugging my friend, Jenny.

Jenny and I go way back…like…”trying to clear the cobwebs” type of memories.  I spent many a days and nights at her house and she at mine when we were younger.  I think we lived about 4 or 5 houses away from eachother when my family moved into Jenny’s neighborhood.  Our elementary years were spent at a school called Community Christian School and Cori, another writer at The Journey was there too.  It was a small school so we were all in everything and knew everyone.

I am so glad that my bugging and keeping tabs on Jenny has worked 😉 and that she has joined up with us over here at The Journey.  See…she is what I call a foodie.  She likes to make things with food that may not be the norm of a recipe.  In fact, in her bio, she even wrote that she uses a recipe as an outline.  I have never thought of a recipe in that way…and the last time I tried to make super healthy stuff I had to pry open my food processor (yes, I had to bend the actual blade) just to get the food out of it.  We shall call that day a big fat FAIL.  That was the day I also knew that we needed to get a real foodie over here at The Journey because that is just something I don’t like and find very little joy in doing.

Let’s meet Jenny and see what great recipe she is sharing with us today!  

jenny picJenny Chapman is a wife, mother of two young girls and works part-time as a fundraising coach.  As a busy working mom, I am making small changes in the way we eat to be healthy and eat more veggies!  I love to cook and look forward to sharing my favs with you. I love to experiment with recipes and view them as outlines–I have fun making healthy yummy food and enjoy the process.  (As I write this bio, I just realized my veggies and fruits I am steaming for my superfood blend have been going way too long.) 🙂

granola doneGranola Recipe

I need a breakfast that will stick with me and most rarely do.  This recipe “sticks with me” and I don’t snack as much.  I hope you enjoy!  It is our favorite breakfast.  I eat it plain but adding nuts and fruit helps with variety.  We eat with organic plain whole milk yogurt.

I make a double batch of this recipe every two weeks. We eat so much of it, we started buying 50 pound bags of oats. 🙂

  • 7 Cups Old Fashioned Oats
  • ½ cup Olive Oil or Coconut Oil (melted)
  • ½ cup Honey (Local Raw Unfiltered is best)
  • 1 tsp Vanilla
  • 1-2 TB Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp Cloves
  • 1 tsp Allspice
  • 1 tsp Nutmeg

granola cookingPreheat Oven to 325.  Combine above ingredients. Put Granola in a single layer on large sheet pan.  Total bake time is 30 minutes and stir the mixture every 10 minutes.

Optional Additions: 1 cup nuts of your choice or 1 cup dried fruit of your choice

My tips:  I use parchment paper to minimize mess.  Add the oil first since it helps the honey mix in better–don’t worry if the honey isn’t incorporated very well because that is why you stir it every 10 minutes.  Don’t spend tons of time stirring it but just dump it in the pan.

To add more nutrition I add my superfood blend to the yogurt.  I will share that with you in my next post!

Thanks for being part of The Journey!

Jenny

3 thoughts on “Granola Recipe…and the newest writer at The Journey!

    1. mominminnesota Post author

      Jenny says…”1/2 cup to 3/4 cup”

      Hope that helps! Good luck with the recipe!!!
      -Jessica

      Like

      Reply

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

