Megan’s Journey…recovery after severe car accident

Jessica photo for The JourneyThis story has been in the works for a few years…even before The Journey was a glimmer in my mind.  It is a story of a woman that has overcome more obstacles in her own journey than most of us can imagine or think we can even handle.  

I first met Megan when I worked with a group called Teen MOPS.  This is an offset of a larger organization called MOPS but this particular group works with teens that are pregnant or teens that are parents.  Megan was part of this group when she was pregnant with her daughter and she always was smiling.  Our lives went different ways and in 2012 I heard about how everything changed for her on one particular day.  I have admired how hard she has been working the last few years…and applaud her for how hard she is working in her life and for her daughter.  

…this is one story that might just take your breathe away.  Megan, thank you for taking the time to write this for us here at The Journey!  

Take a moment and get inspired by reading other stories that we have of people who have changed their life…and possibly connect with one of these situations.  We all have a journey and if you would like to share your story, please send us an e-mail to The Journey at smallchangesbigpicture@gmail.com  

– Jessica

Megan

Megan 

Megan’s Journey

On June 4, 2012 I was in a serious car accident. The car rolled somewhere between 3 and seven times before going end over end.  I didn’t have my seatbelt on and was ejected from the car at some point.

I fractured my skull in several places, severed an artery in my brain, broke my back, broke my ribs, broke and dislocated my shoulder, broke my nose, and impaled my knee. The majority of my body was covered in road rash, cuts, and lacerations.

At the time of the accident my daughter had just turned four and she was my biggest cheerleader and largest motivation to get back to life as quickly as possible. There were lots of times where I wanted to give up whether it was in physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech therapy, or just life in general.

I have had seven surgeries, four on my head, two on my knee, and one on my shoulder.

megan car

Megan’s car after the accident.

Another motivator was I wanted my independence back and this is probably one of the biggest motivators today. You don’t realize how many things you take for granted until those things are taken from you. I was a college student, full time worker, single mother, and completely on my own at the time of the accident. I now have to live with my parents and while I am back to school, I am only working part time.

The biggest change that I’ve had to make is to put aside my pride and ask/accept help when needed. I am slowly getting back to “normal” but “normal” is a completely different concept now.

I have learned to pay attention to my body and what it is telling me. I have learned to respect my body and take care of it. I have learned to cherish life and all of the little moments that we often overlook. I have learned that because of my short term memory loss I have to write everything down and I have learned to cope with what others might view as my shortcomings as a result of my traumatic brain injury. I have learned that it is ok to ask for help.

megan accident

Top: Megan after the accident
Bottom: Megan standing in the spot where the accident happened in 2012.

In December I finally completed my Associate’s Degree and once I complete my Bachelor’s I intend to go to law school.

The biggest lesson I learned in all of this was that I control my success. My recovery was supposed to take me at minimum two years but I was considered completely recovered after 13 months. I worked hard and didn’t allow myself to feel pity for myself because there is always somebody out there who is worse off and I wanted to get back to being the mom that my daughter needed. I couldn’t give up on myself because in my mind that meant I was giving up on her.

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

