Eating Experiments: Cinnamon Applesauce

Eating ExperimentsWelcome to the new series Eating Experiments, where I try out new foods, new recipes and new methods of preparing food! Most of these experiments will be small things anyone could try to add a little nutrition to their life. I’ve tried some more extreme eating before, such as trying Paleo for a month, but these experiments will {mostly} be more on the simple side.

So, here we go with the first recipe! I actually found a great site  called Transformed by Food while doing my Paleo experiment. I like her sweet potato recipe — a lot — and have returned to the site to look for other recipes, too. Even if you don’t want to dive into eating Paleo, the Paleo recipe sites are great places to find recipes to try. I was interested in her cinnamon applesauce recipe made in a crockpot, and that’s my first experiment.

Apple corer

Part of my experiment this time included playing with a new toy. I got an apple corer for Christmas, and I was super excited to try it out! (Cute helper optional. 😉 )

cute helper

I actually made this a few months back when we still had some apples from my in-laws’ tree. They were a little mushy for regular eating, but pretty good for making into applesauce.

026_1

You can find the recipe at the Transformed by Food site. The recipe is called Deliciously Simple Paleo Applesauce. We peeled, cored and chopped the apples. Next, we put them in the crockpot with the other ingredients. And, that was about it! It’s a very easy recipe.

032_1

The pros of this experiment are: it is fairly simple (especially with the apple corer), the ingredients are nutritious, and everyone loved it and wanted more.

The con of this experiment is: it takes a lot of apples to get a little bit of applesauce. That is just a fact of life, but it could get pricey, depending on your apple source.

So, there you have it. The first Eating Experiment is in the books! Or should I say, in the stomachs!

Cori2

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

