Eating Experiment: Making Yogurt

Eating ExperimentsI have enjoyed eating yogurt forever, I think. Probably not forever, but I don’t really remember, so we’ll just pretend I’ve loved it forever. šŸ˜‰ In recent years, I’ve mostly eaten Greek yogurt. It took a bit to adjust to the taste, but I like that it has higher levels of protein and lower levels of added sugar.

My sister has been making her own yogurt for a while. She even has a nifty little yogurt maker. (You can see a picture of what she has by clicking here.) At Christmas, she let me borrow it so I could try making some yogurt myself!

[Special note: I took no pictures of making yogurt, so everything I say in this post will make more sense if you click over to the links I mention.]

The basic of making your own yogurt is heating milk, then cooling it a bit, adding a yogurt “starter,”Ā and then keeping it at a certain temperature for the amount of time needed. The yogurt maker is really just an incubator. It doesn’t do any “making,” just warming. There are tutorials on making yogurt all over the internet. Whenever I have a food question, I like to start with Katie at Kitchen Stewardship. She’s done in-depth research on food topics, and I trust her opinion. (She’s also big on baby steps, so you know how much we are in love with that!) Anyway, she has some great information on yogurt making.

I would like to try her method sometime. Since I had my sister’s nifty yogurt maker, I did all the steps and then poured the milk in little jars, and did not have to use the towel/cooler method.

Homemade yogurt will taste like plain yogurt. That’s not really my favorite, so I added fruit, honey or some blueberry agave syrup I found on clearance. I think I could eventually adjust to the taste, but it might take a few batches. It also has the consistency of non-Greek yogurt.

I think I made two batches of yogurt with my sister’s nifty digs. My biggest challenge lately is the busyness of our schedule and the lack of time to try some other yogurt making methods. I think there are more experiments to be had in yogurt making, so hopefully I’ll have more yogurt posts in the future. (Along with pictures!)

Experiment Pros: Making yogurt is much cheaper than buying it pre-made at the store, and you are able to control what gets put in it.

Experiment Cons: It does take time. It can be a bit complicated, if you don’t have the cute little yogurt maker.

_______________________

Cori2CoriĀ is a wife, mom of three, part-time secretary and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. She has a degree in journalism and enjoys doing research and writing.

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

