Tidbits and tats…and the winner of the latest challenge

Jessica photo for The JourneyIt feels as if I haven’t written at The Journey in FOREVER!  Life seems to take over and the last few weeks I let life take the reigns and stuff came up that I couldn’t put to the side…

…like the entire family getting sick with strep, taxes were due and then the latest round of illness.  In the last 8 days we had one day where everyone was doing and going where they needed to go.  1 day.  That is all.  It even includes the weekend.  It is now Monday and we haven’t hit that day 2 mark yet but I’m hoping that tomorrow is the day that we all climb in the car and get to our destination for the day.  Right now though, my oldest has some sort of nasty cough thing going on and this morning the Dr. said “she has sounds in her lungs that shouldn’t be there”.  pretty sure that is why I brought her in…but you know…let’s just count that as small talk

I am moving forward though.  I am going to win this battle of being stuck at home and not being able to go shopping and do the mom stuff that needs to get done.  I will win…this sickness junk is not going to be the champion.  🙂  That is my attitude today and I just might make that happen with enough coffee.  😉

tryTHAT is the attitude that will make you a winner…in whatever you are trying to achieve.

  • My days are not perfect…but I still try.
  • I don’t always get enough sleep…but I still make it to class and/or exercise at home.
  • I don’t always eat the best…but I always have another meal where I can try again.
  • I don’t always feel like doing one more interval at the end of the workout…but that is how I get results, so I do it.

So…I have a few tidbits to share with you today.  We aren’t stopping there though…because I want to make sure YOU have some pretty cool info right at your fingertips.  We are also sharing the winner of the latest challenge that will be announced at the end.  First, we are going to start with our chapter review of the book “Made to Crave Action Plan”.

made to crave action planTidbit #1:  Chapter 4 of Made to Crave Action Plan

A group of ladies in Rochester, MN are going through this book with me that is written by Lysa Terkeurst.  It is a book that is a follow-up to a book titled “Made to Crave” and this focuses more on the foods and specifics of what “healthy” truly is and what those numbers are that we should be consuming.  It is probably one of my favorite books.

If you are just joining us with this study you can find reviews of the previous chapters at these links:  Chapter 1, Chapter 2 and Chapter 3.

Chapter 4 – Maximize Key Nutrients.

fast-food-on-scale-vertThe info this week was short, sweet and to the point:  Americans eat horribly.  I think we all know this information and based on the statistics out there this really shouldn’t shock anyone.  The fact that the US is high in malnutrition does shock us though and it is true.  The statistic shared with us is that “72% of the calories we eat are not recognized by our ancestral genes.  They are empty calories.”

I am reading another book titled “Pandora’s Lunchbox: How processed foods took over the American Meal” and reading these two pieces of info together…makes me really start to question what it is that I am eating and letting my kids eat every day.  We were just out getting groceries the other day and we made this a family event.  My hubby wanted to get applesauce and he wanted a specific kind because it tastes better.  I agree…it does taste better.  There is a difference though between what I have been buying over the last few months and the jar of really tasty stuff.  That difference is ingredients.  My applesauce has the words “apples” and “water”.  The package of tasty stuff has a list of things that I can’t pronounce.  I started working on these changes a long time ago with my family…and we have a long ways to go…but guess what applesauce we brought home?  🙂

Two other points that were made in this chapter are 1)  Polyphenols and 2) Catechins.  I have never heard of these words before…but I know them know…which means I need to do something about them since I now have the knowledge.

  1. Polyphenols are the compounds that are in the harder parts of the fruits and vegetables.  Example:  the skin on grapes, apples, blueberries, peaches, pears, strawberries, tomatoes, garlic, onions, sweet potatoes and celery.  We need to eat 5 to 7 servings a day of foods containing polyphenols.
  2. Catechins are health promoting compounds found in green tea.  This is something I don’t like so the chances of me ever having enough of this is pretty slim…but we can also find these in supplements.  The amount we should have is 250 to 400 mg each day.

Our group was also chatting a lot (it’s a group of women…we talk!) and figuring out ways to tackle some of our other issues that are holding us back.  Below are a few links that I promised I would send them.  They might help you too!:

Angie lots of picsTidbit #2:  Stories that you need to read

One of the hardest things for me to hear and watch is when people start to doubt themselves. This doesn’t hurt me in any way…but because I KNOW that they can do it…I feel their pain that they are experiencing inside.  I had my low point and know what physical pain feels like 100% of the time and what it is like to be drawn in to a drive-thru because you just have to eat the food.  I know.  I know the emotional toll as well because I had many days where I would have rather sat on my couch than go outside to play with my kids or go for a walk with them…because that was tough to do.  I can relate to a variety of pain and I know what it feels likes.  It’s my story.

We have had the pleasure of sharing many stories of groupies here at The Journey.  As I read through each one I am thankful for them, their stories and their courage to share.  It is not easy to put yourself out there in public view…but these people did it and did an awesome job.  The goal is just to inspire others…because everyone has a story and can relate to someone.  Here are a few of the stories we have published at The Journey that you should take a few minutes to read.  You never know…it might inspire you to do more than you planned today.  🙂

  • Lanse’s Story…living with diabetes and dialysis and learning how to get healthy
  • Arwen’s Story…a mom who put her family first as her child was diagnosed with cancer and today she is putting her health on her to-do list
  • Megan’s Story...a teen mom who is recovering from a horrible automobile accident that led to a traumatic brain injury
  • Angie’s Story…a mom who started moving and made small steps to a healthier life.  She just did a 5k this past weekend too!
  • and more!  You can find all of our stories we have published at this link:  Stories of those we call groupies.  We would love to share your story too!  E-mail smallchangesbigpicture@gmail.com for more info.

small changes coverTidbit #3:  THE WINNER!

We did a challenge called The Small Changes Challenge that lasted 12 weeks and we focused on 12 small changes that we could do…1 each week.  Every participant needed to do the homework and e-mail us at The Journey in order to qualify for the prize at the end.  We had a lot of success with our first group and the ladies that were part of this did some awesome stuff and some some some really amazing things happen with their bodies.  More people wanted to join so we started a second group…and that just finished up this past week.

The best part of this challenge is that YOU can do this at any time and in any order.  You don’t need to do this with a group…but it does help with accountability a bit.  If you would like to try out the challenge, check out the link:  The Small Changes Challenge

Last but not least…the winner of our challenge is:  Becky Carlson

Becky, I know you didn’t want to win and you didn’t think you should…but you did the work and you are the winner.  Be proud of what you have accomplished!  You did an amazing job.

All of you who participated in the challenge…the first group and the second…congrats!  If you ever need to revisit a week, just go do it.  You can also still e-mail us at any time if you need a little encouragement.

We will putting out a new challenge soon…and this is one that everyone can participate in!  Check back at The Journey next week for the details.  😉

-Jessicasaturday quote

 

 

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

