RECIPE! Superfood Salad

Jessica photo for The JourneyGetting in those greens is sometimes the hardest thing for me to do…not because it is necessarily hard…but I don’t like them.  There.  I said it…and I know I’m not the only person here who feels that way.  I’m trying though and will keep working in those veggies little by little because I know they are important.  They don’t taste like chocolate…but they are necessary for my body to be healthy.  (I do gag sometimes though trying to eat them.  It’s a process.  Just like me eating fish – you read that story, right? 😉

Jenny, one of our writers at The Journey, is sharing a recipe that might help me get over that “green” issue.  I read through this recipe and have decided that I will try this soon.  That is the first step…making the decision to try.  It does look really tasty and I know Jenny…she would not give us something that is gross.  😉

Jenny has a few more recipes coming up that look FABULOUS! and if you missed the last recipe…you can find it right here:  Homemade Granola.  Take my word for it…A.Maze.Ing!  The other day I just put some in a bowl, grabbed a spoon and ate it.

Take it away, Jenny!

 

jenny picMake Ahead LUNCH!

I am all about making ahead lunches, thanks to my husband’s brilliance on Sunday nights and it is much easier to eat healthy if it is made ahead!

 

Super food salad recipe.  Find the details at www.smallchangesbigpicture.wordpress.com

Super food salad recipe. Find the details at http://www.smallchangesbigpicture.wordpress.com

Winter (Summer, Spring, Fall…whatever season)  Superfood Salad  

1) 1 bunch of kale chopped

2) Shredded Carrots

3) ½ white onion finely chopped

4) Edamame

5) Blueberries (we use frozen)

6) Sunflower Seeds

7) Protein (antibiotic hormone free chicken breast–cooked ahead and or canned tuna.  (Some days we won’t add any meat just to have a meatless meal at least once a week.)

Mix 1-5  together and it keeps for a week.  Add sunflower seeds, protein and dressing right before eating.  My favorite dressing is Annie’s Organic Asian Sesame Salad Dressing.

Enjoy!  and thanks for being part of The Journey.  If you haven’t already…sign up for our newsletter.  You can find a link to get all the latest and greatest stuff from The Journey right here:  Newsletter from The Journey

-Jenny

One thought on “RECIPE! Superfood Salad

  1. jennyhchapman

    Hi Everyone at The Journey! Just wanted to encourage you to eat more greens! I feel more energetic when I eat salads for lunch and drink less coffee. As a busy mom, it is hard for me to stay on track. Best thing I have learned is to make them ahead of time. I usually, make my husband’s lunch and breakfast the night before, so why not make mine? I eat healthier and stay on track when I make it ahead. So make your lunches ahead of time and you are less likely to be eating mac and cheese or something unhealthy and processed because you are too hungry to make yourself a salad!

    Like

    Reply

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

