No Sugar Month

I’ve taken a few weeks off from my Eating Experiments. Life has been busy, and, quite frankly, I’m not sure I love writing about eating experiments. πŸ˜‰ I do still have some experiments I want to try, so I’ll keep at it, but the series will be more random.

No SugarI do have some things I’m interested in writing about. I’m going to start with my decision to ban sugar from my diet in May. I have a few reasons.

One, I’ve been consuming too much of the stuff lately. If I have a little, I just crave more.

Secondly, I’ve noticed how much stress is a trigger for me to eat sugar. Eating sugar when feeling stressed is one of the worst things we can do for our bodies, because sugar does not help stress go away. That is another post for another day, but I’m ready to break this cycle. I doubt one month will be enough, but I have to start somewhere. I haven’t really planned out what I’m going to do, but maybe I’ll have some insight after the month is over.

Third, ever since eating Paleo for the month of October, I’ve been more aware of how I feel and how my body reacts after eating various foods. I’m on a mission to determine if some foods disagree with me. I might include my whole family in this adventure, but probably not until next month. πŸ™‚ Anyway, there is zero nutrition in sugar, so I might as well start with that.

And lastly, for some reason, if I write about a no-sugar month, or a Paleo month, in some form here at The Journey, I am more likely to stay accountable to the goal. I have no idea why. Even if only three of you and my mom read this, I’ll follow the rules if I write about it. I should probably get some counseling on this, but counseling is expensive and this blog writing is free. So, thanks for reading. You help me be a healthier person.

If you are interested in joining me this month, feel free to let me know. I’ve done this before, but if you are new to the game, you might want to read some previous posts on this topic:

The “ish” Rules I Followed in the Past (I’ll be doing similar this month.)

Tips for Surviving a No-Sugar Month

What I Learned During a Previous No-Sugar Month {Plus a recipe!}

There are probably many more posts I could link to. Jessica has written about sugar consumption, and we’ve had other challenges here at The Journey. Just browse these pages and see what helps you best! πŸ™‚ We are here to help and encourage you, so let us know what posts and challenges are most helpful to you.

 

______________________

Cori2CoriΒ is a wife, mom of three, part-time secretary and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. She has a degree in journalism and enjoys doing research and writing.

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

