Eating Experiment: Fruit Wash

Eating ExperimentsHey! How is everyone doing? I bet you thought I forgot about my Eating Experiments. Well, I didn’t! I have been too busy to try much, but I do have a new experiment. Today’s experiment could probably go along with Shannon’s Pinny Pig series, as it is an experiment found often online.

I tried fruit wash! Have you seen the pin or the post claiming to rid your fruit of all things gross and dirty by soaking it in a mix of water and vinegar? Well, I tried it.

I don’t know where the recipe originated or who put up the first pin, so I’m not going to link to anyone. I’ll just tell you the recipe: one cup of vinegar in a sink full of water. Add fruit. Soak for 10 minutes. Watch (supposedly) all the gunk fall off. It even claims your fruit stays fresh longer.

I didn’t have a sink full of fruit, so I picked a large bowl instead and used about half the amount of vinegar. My first experiment was with grapes.

012_2

I can’t say that I noticed any drastic changes in the water. There was not an over-abundance of gunk, as promised.

In the pictures below, the one on the left shows the dirty water and the one on the right shows a similar bowl with clean water. There is a difference. The water on the left is cloudier, but not by much.

015_3016_1

My next attempt was with apples.

014_3

I didn’t notice much change here, either. I did notice more of the wax ON the apples after soaking them, so I scrubbed them some more to try to remove the wax.

Have you tried this fruit washing method? Was it successful? I can’t say I noticed enough of a difference to warrant doing this every time I buy fruit. But, I’d be willing to try again if anyone has some tips or a better method. Please let me know in the comments!

 

______________________

Cori2Cori is a wife, mom of three, part-time secretary and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. She has a degree in journalism and enjoys doing research and writing.

One thought on “Eating Experiment: Fruit Wash

  1. mominminnesota

    So…I have tried this but it has been a long time. But, I recently bought some parsnips that had a layer of wax around them…and it grossed me out. I could flake it off. They obviously weren’t fresh if they needed that much wax on them to ship. It was a bit like eating that fake fruit…a bit nasty. *Jessica

    Like

    Reply

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

