Jessica Pages’ Journey…a story from one of our groupies

Jessica photo for The JourneyOne of my most favorite things to do here at The Journey is to share the stories of others.  We have a page at The Journey dedicated just for these stories and you can read them at any point you need a little inspiration.  The Stories of Those We Call Groupies

Each person has their own journey, our own path that we have taken to get where we are at this moment today.  Our stories might be our own but bits and pieces of our story might inspire you to keep moving, try something new, realize that you aren’t the only one or even give you the courage to start traveling on a path that is a bit on the scary side.

Today we are sharing one of those stories…a mom who gained 50 pounds during her last pregnancy and is now working on a “bucket list” item that truly shows determination.  She has also painted her weight bench pink…which is just pretty awesome.  🙂  Our story today comes from someone also named Jessica and who is an I’m Fit Possible Ambassador just like myself and Shannon here at The Journey.

Sit back, relax & be inspired by Jessica’s story…

Jessica Williams

Jessica PagesJessica Pages’ Journey

I was not always into fitness, I never really gave my weight or my body a second thought.  I am a mom to three kids ages 22, 17 and 4 and was born and raised in the Triad Region of North Carolina.

I was over weight by about 10-15 pounds,…but that really didn’t bother me. In 2009 my husband and I found out that I was pregnant for the 3rd  time!! My first pregnancy I gained 40 pounds, my 2nd I gained about 25 so I thought I really didn’t have to worry about as far as my weight went. Well that was WRONG!

I ate ice cream, fast food, anything I could get my hands on…and that usually consisted of sweets and fried foods…I was eating for 2 you know! I also DIDN’T workout 1 time throughout my pregnancy. I had not worked out at all in my life so why should I start now while I was pregnant, that’s what I told myself.

I found myself unhappy with my physical and mental shape after the birth of my  3rd and last child. I wasn’t completely happy with myself before the pregnancy but afterwards it  was way worse. I gained over 50 pounds and at the hospital right before I gave birth I weighed 198 pounds!!!!!

After I gave birth I just couldn’t shake off the extra weight. I needed a Change! I wanted a lean, toned body! I had bought an OXYGEN magazine after I had given birth, something to spark my interest in losing some weight. So, I decided to give it one more try. I decided to hit the GYM!. My goal was to lose 30 pounds and gain some muscle. I wanted to look like the women on the cover of Oxygen magazine!

It wasn’t long before I started seeing major changes in not only my appearance but in how I felt. I found that I too had the drive, dedication, and, commitment within myself, and that I also had the power to change my body.

I now train 5-6 days a week with a combo of weight training and cardio. I eat a clean diet and have 1-2 cheat meals a week. I have lost 20 pounds and am working on losing the last 10 as we speak!

One of my goals for my Fitness “Bucket List” is to step on stage and compete in a NPC Bodybuilding show (Bikini Division).  I had seen the women in the magazine’s that were doing Bikini shows, I thought maybe if I put a goal of stepping on stage it might be a cool goal. I will be stepping on that NPC stage in 2014.

I truly believe I found my calling in life, and that is helping and inspiring women to live a healthy and fit lifestyle. I am a Personal Trainer,  R.I.P.P.E.D Instructor,PIYO instructor  and also do Online Training/Coaching by helping others achieve their goals through Virtual Training. I love helping other women find the joy in working out. It has been the most fulfilling career endeavor I have ever experienced!

Thanks for sharing your story with us, Jessica!  You can connect with Jessica at www.fitnessfactoryone.com or on her Facebook page.

connectThanks for being part of The Journey!  Take a sec and follow our blog so you don’t miss our posts coming up.  You can also find us at the following places:

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

