Back to School, Back to the Basics

I love summer! I love the change of pace, although still busy, there is a bit of a slowdown from the regular routine. I love the weather and the chance to be outdoors more. I love the delicious food available fresh from garden. I love the late nights out with my family.

But, about this time every year, I start to see the need to return to some routine. To establish some sort of normalcy. I mean, I haven’t written here at The Journey since … let me check … scrolling, scrolling, scrolling … the end of May! Yikes!

My Facebook post from the other day:  Routine(What? You’re not seeing our Facebook posts? You aren’t alone. Only a fraction of the people who “like” us see our stuff. Check out all the other ways you can keep in touch with us on our contact page.)

I’m in need of a return to some good habits. That’s why I’m starting a “Back to School, Back to the Basics” plan for the upcoming school year.

Even if you don’t have kids in school,  you probably still notice a shift in routine as summer comes to a close.  I always feel like the new school year is a bit like New Year’s Day, a chance for a clean slate and to set some new goals.

My problem is, I usually start my clean slate with eight thousand things I’d like to change, and I attempt to change them all in one day. Which, of course, leads to complete failure. Anyone else relate to this, or am I the only crazy person? 😉

So, our Back to the Basics series is going to be very simple. We will work on one habit per month during the school year. One, and only one. I am convinced more than ever that small changes make a difference (more on that next week!), and tackling one habit per month for nine months will help us change our habits for a lifetime. I can’t promise you will drop two sizes in one week or have a bikini body by next summer, but I can promise you that incorporating good habits in your life will help your overall health. None of the impossible challenges Jessica talked about recently. We will work on just one healthy habit at a time.

Back to the Basics

And, since “Back to School” means very different things depending on where you live, we’ll start in September and go through May. I know some schools have already started back, and some of you still get to play until after Labor Day. Come back in two weeks and I will post our first habit. In the weeks that follow, I will check in on how I’m doing, you can share what you are doing, and I’ll try to share some reasons for each habit, you know, the scientific stuff.

Join in at any time. If you’ve already tackled the monthly habit, feel free to jump in and encourage others or share your tips for sticking with that habit. And feel free to give me a suggestion of a habit  you would like to work on, cause I’ve got some ideas, but I don’t have nine yet. 🙂

The Challenges (added each month):

Drink Water Move Your Body Cut SugarVeggies

______________________________________________

Cori2Cori is a wife, mom of three, part-time secretary and random writer who is learning how to take small steps towards big goals. She tends to be an all-or-nothing kind of person, but a journey to learn how to run (something she always hated) has taught her a lot about gradual, slow change. She has a degree in journalism and enjoys doing research and writing.

...and your thoughts are...go ahead, type away!

